High Point 250 Moto 1 Report

High Point 250 Moto 1 Report

June 8, 2013 3:20pm

As the sun peered through the desolate skies over High Point, GEICO Honda’s Zach Osborne grabbed the Motorcycle-Superstore.com moto 1 holeshot. Yet it was Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen that quickly took over the lead. In what is becoming an all to common theme Roczen clicked off thirty plus two of perfection—winning his fourth straight moto 1 win of the season.

Monotony rued the day up front, while chaos took hold behind. Marvin Musquin, Osborne, Justin Bogle, local hero Darryn Durham, Cole Seely, Jason Anderson, Eli Tomac and a host of other engaged in a full on donnybrook through the first half. Seely held second over Marvin Musquin but lost the frontend after Bradshaw Boulevard. Seely would remount to stay within the top ten, but had another big crash late in the race. He would stay on the ground for quite some time before getting up. There is no word on his status for the second moto at this time.

Meanwhile, Osborne and Anderson were having troubles of their own as Osborne collided with Anderson right before the Incredible Huck. Anderson would come back to finish 12th.

Blake Baggett rebounded from a horrible start to climb inside the top five, before tipping over in the corner following the uphill triple, collecting Durham and Osborne with him. All three would remount and finish the race.

After another so-so start Tomac made a late charge at Musquin, closing the gap to within seconds late in the race. The GEICO Honda rider was putting in lap times in the 2:08 and 2:09 range with just a few laps remaining. But in the end Musquin would hold strong to take second. Tomac, Baggett, Bogle, Cooper Webb, Kyle Cunningham, Darryn Durham, Jeremy Martin and Zach Osborne would round out the top ten.


250 Moto 1 Results

1. Ken Roczen
2. Marvin Musquin
3. Eli Tomac
4. Blake Baggett
5. Justin Bogle
6. Cooper Webb
7. Kyle Cunningham
8. Darryn Durham
9. Jeremy Martin
10. Zach Osborne
11. Justin Hill
12. Jason Anderson
13. Joey Savatgy
14. Martin Davalos
15. Alex Martin
16. Kyle Peters
17. Justin Starling
18. Jackson Richardson
19. Mitchell Oldenburg
20. Ryan Zimmer
21. Jesse Wentland
22. Levi Kilbarger
23. Dillan Epstein
24. Sean Hackley
25. Daniel Lippman
26. Matas Inda
27. Todd Kreig
28. Dakota Kessler
29. Chad Gores
30. Sunny Drake
31. Ignacio Pazos
32. Daniel Herrlein
33. Kyle Bitterman
34. Cole Seely
35. Blake Wharton
36. Lance Vincent
37. Brady Kiesel
38. Tommy Weeck
39. Steve Roman
40. Zach Freeberg