Hangtown 250 Moto 1 Report

Hangtown 250 Moto 1 Report

May 19, 2012 6:20pm

Littered with champions from all over the world, the 2012 250 class is considered one of the deepest in history.  And early on former champions shined bright. Reigning MX2 Champion Ken Roczen and two-time East Region Lites SX Champion Justin Barcia locked up in a battle of champions. But lurking behind was the El Chupacabra, Blake Baggett.

Known for his prowess down the stretch Baggett again proved to be a beast late in the race. Coming from over eight seconds back at the mid-way mark, Baggett chased down and caught the former champions (Roczen and Barcia) as the white flag dropped. And all this came after he had hunted down reigning West Coast Lites SX Champion Eli Tomac.

Locked at the hip with one lap to go the pressure was beginning to mount for Roczen and Barcia, who had fought tooth and nail all moto long, but now to had to hold off a red-hot Baggett. Barcia would succumb to the pressure first, as Baggett charged around the outside, gobbling up the former champion in the process. The El Chupacabra then plotted his attack on the MX2 Champion, making another brilliant pass with only a few corners remaining. In one of the most action packed opening motos in history, Baggett put in a truly amazing ride to capture the victory. An exasperated Ken Roczen and Justin Barcia would round out the podium.

Other Notes:

-  Pro Circuit was dealt a devastating blow early in moto 1 when Dean Wilson had to retire after his already damaged shoulder popped out again. Early reports are that Wilson will now have surgery and miss the remainder of the 2012 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship

-  In his first ride in the 250 class since 2005 Ivan Tedesco put together a remarkable moto 1. Hot Sauce ran up front early before sliding back to sixth.


250 Moto 1 Overall Results

  1. Blake Baggett
  2. Ken Rozen
  3. Justin Barcia
  4. Eli Tomac
  5. Marvin Musquin
  6. Ivan Tedesco
  7. Wil Hahn
  8. Jason Anderson
  9. Kyle Cunningham
  10. Jake Canada
  11. Kyle Peters
  12. Gareth Swanepoel
  13. Jessy Nelson
  14. Martin Davalos
  15. Travis Baker
  16. Blake Wharton
  17. Hunter Hewitt
  18. AJ Catanzaro
  19. Shane Sewell
  20. Killy Rusk
  21. Justin Bogle
  22. Joey Peters
  23. Alex Martin
  24. Dakota Tedder
  25. Malcolm Stewart
  26. Zach Freeburg
  27. Jelderda
  28. Robert Noftz
  29. Brad Nauditt
  30. Travis Bell
  31. Landen Powell
  32. Steve Roman
  33. Chris Plouffe
  34. Scott Champion
  35. Topher Ingalls
  36. Preston Tilford
  37. Dean Wilson
  38. Jason Potter
  39. Phil Nicoletti
  40. Tevin Tapia