Indy SX Notes

AMA Supercross Class Stats
-First race, March 21st, 1992. Jeff Stanton won on a Honda. This is the final race at the RCA Dome. Next year’s race will be held at Lucas Oil Stadium.

-There have been no first time winners in Indianapolis.
-This is the 17th time the gate will drop for an AMA Supercross race in
Indiana native Mike LaRocco won the last ever AMA Supercross race of his career in Indianapolis in 2004 aboard a Honda.
-LaRocco won his first AMA Supercross class race in 1991. It was 14 seasons between his first win and last win.

Wins By Brand in Indianapolis
Honda-8 last win 2004
Yamaha-3 last win 2002
Kawasaki-3 last win 2007
Suzuki-2 last win 2006

-Jeremy McGrath has six wins in Indianapolis and Ricky Carmichael has four.
-Chad Reed has never won in
Indianapolis. He has five podiums in five starts.

AMA Supercross Class Notables –
-Davi Millsaps became the 48th different rider to win an AMA Supercross race.
-Millsaps’ win snaps the most races without a first time winner – a record 44 events
-For the first time since 2005 there have been four different winners.
-For the fifth time in 88 starts, Reed did not make the top five. His seve-race podium streak for this season is stopped.
-This was the first podium sweep for Honda since round five in 1989 with Rick Johnson, Jean-Michael Bayle, and Stanton on the podium.
-This was the first time since round three and four of 2002 that Honda has won back-to-back races with two different winners. In 2002 it was LaRocco and
Carmichael, in 2008 it was Windham and Millsaps.
-Andrew Short earned his first AMA Supercross class podium of the year.
-It was Honda's first sweep of
Atlanta since 1986 when Rick Johnson and Keith Turpin won their respective classes.

AMA Supercross Lites Class Stats
-First race
March 21st, 1992. Jimmy Button won on a Yamaha.
-17th time the gate will drop in
Indianapolis for an AMA Supercross Lites race.

Wins by Brand
Yamaha-5, last win 2004
Suzuki-5 last win 2007
Kawasaki-3 last win 1998
Honda-3 last win 2006

-Ricky Carmichael is the only rider in history to win in Indianapolis in AMA Supercross Lites and AMA Supercross class racing.  Davi Millsaps can join him with a win this weekend.

AMA Supercross Lites Class Notables -- Atlanta
-Trey Canard earned his first AMA Supercross Lites win of his career.
-Ryan Villopoto come from last to first in the points like Ben Townley did last year.
-KTM had bikes on the podium Martin Davalos and Ryan Sipes, who earned 2nd and 3rd.


AMA Supercross Class Laps Led

Chad Reed                                 84

James Stewart                           20

Kevin Windham                          23

Grant Langston                            3

David Millsaps                           25


AMA Supercross Lites Class Laps Led

Jason Lawrence                          47

Ryan Dungey                             26

Austin Stroupe                           15

Trey Canard                                15

Jake Weimer                               5

Daniel Reardon                            4

Broc Hepler                                 3


Progressive Holeshot Award (AMA Supercross Class)

Grant Langston (Anaheim 1)

Mike Alessi (Phoenix)

Mike Alessi (Anaheim 2)

Tim Ferry (San Francisco)

Chad Reed (Anaheim 3)

David Millsaps (San Diego)

David Millsaps (Houston)

Chad Reed (Atlanta)


Progressive Holeshot Award (AMA Supercross Lites Class)

Matt Lemoine (Anaheim 1)

Jake Weimer (Phoenix)

Austin Stroupe (Anaheim 2)

Thomas Hahn (San Francisco)

Austin Stroupe (Anaheim 3)

Jason Lawrence (San Diego)

Ryan Dungey (Houston)

Trey Canard (Atlanta)


MMI Top Tech Award

Oscar Wirdeman (Anaheim 1)

Jeremy Hoyer (Phoenix)

Vincent Bereni (Anaheim 2)

Brian Calmu (San Francisco)

Dana Wiggins (Anaheim 3)

John Boyd (San Diego)

Pro Circuit (Houston)

Jesse Black (Atlanta)


USSTC Pro Privateer Challenge

1. Charles Summey       67 points

2.  Paul Carpenter          67 points

3.  Heath Voss               45 points


Asterisk Medic Card

Ryan Grantom (Anaheim 1)

Michael Willard (Phoenix)

Chris Blose (Anaheim 2)

Ryan Beat (San Francisco)

Jeff Northrop (Anaheim 3)

Kyle Cunningham (San Diego)

Ryan Grantom (Houston)

Justin Sipes (Atlanta)


Racer X Gas Card

Cole Siebler (Anaheim 1)

Ryan Abrigo (Phoenix)

Troy Adams (Anaheim 2)

Greg Crater (San Francisco)

Kyle Mace (Anaheim 3)

Ryan Clark (San Diego)

Eric Sorby (Houston)

Christopher Gosselaar (Atlanta)


Past Winners in Indianapolis


AMA Supercross Class
March 24, 2007:                         James Stewart

March 04, 2006:                         Ricky Carmichael

February 12, 2005:                     Ricky Carmichael

March 20, 2004:                         Mike LaRocco

March 01, 2003:                         Ricky Carmichael

February 09, 2002:                     David Vuillemin

February 10, 2001:                     Ricky Carmichael

February 12, 2000:                     Jeremy McGrath

April 24, 1999:                           Ezra Lusk

February 14, 1998:                     Jeremy McGrath

February 15, 1997:                     Jeff Emig

March 30, 1996:                         Jeremy McGrath

March 18, 1995:                         Jeremy McGrath

March 19, 1994:                         Jeremy McGrath

April 24, 1993:                            Jeremy McGrath

March 21, 1992:                         Jeff Stanton


AMA Supercross Lites Class
March 24, 2007:                         Ryan Dungey

March 04, 2006:                         David Millsaps

February 12, 2005:                     David Millsaps

March 20, 2004:                         Josh Hansen

March 01, 2003:                         Branden Jesseman

February 09, 2002:                     Chad Reed

February 10, 2001:                     Travis Pastrana

February 12, 2000:                     Michael Brandes

April 24, 1999:                           Ernesto Fonseca

February 14, 1998:                     Ricky Carmichael

February 15, 1997:                     John Dowd

March 30, 1996:                         Mickael Pichon

March 18, 1995:                         Mickael Pichon

March 19, 1994:                         Ezra Lusk

April 24, 1993:                           Doug Henry

March 21, 1992:                         Jimmy Button


AMA Supercross Class Results, Atlanta

  1. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda

  2. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda

  3. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda

  4. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki

  5. Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha

  6. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha

  7. Charles Summey, Huntersville, N.C., Yamaha

  8. Paul Carpenter, Ithaca, N.Y., Honda

  9. David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki

  10. Jason Thomas, Melrose, Fla., Honda

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings

  1. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha, 184

  2. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda, 159

  3. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 137

  4. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda, 123

  5. Andrew Short, Smithville, T