Inaugural "Arby's Action Sports Awards" to Premiere on Fox, Sunday, December 10

October 9, 2006 10:42am

X Games Champion Travis Pastrana Nominated Four Times;
Olympic Gold Medalist Shaun White Up For Three Awards;
Olympians Hannah Teter, Gretchen Bleiler and Lindsey Jacobellis
Compete for Female Snowboarder of the Year

Fans to Begin Voting Online Now at

Los Angeles, CA – The top action sports performances of the year will be honored at the inaugural Arby’s® Action Sports Awards presented by FUEL TV, airing nationally on FOX, Sunday, December 10. The ceremony will bring together the biggest names in skateboarding, snowboarding, surfing, BMX, freestyle motocross and more along with dozens of celebrities from across the entertainment spectrum for one star-studded, high-flying show!

FMX star Travis Pastrana received four nominations following his double backflip performance at this summer’s X Games. Jamie Bestwick, one of the top BMX vert riders in the world, also received four nominations.  Shaun White is up for three awards coming off his Olympic Gold Medal and Winter X Games Gold Medal snowboard runs. Lindsey Jacobellis contends for Female Snowboarder of the Year with fellow Olympians Hannah Teter and Gretchen Bleiler. The competition continues out of the water for surfers Andy and Bruce Irons, Kelly Slater, Rob Machado, Sofia Mulanovich, Rochelle Ballard and Chelsea Georgeson, among other top pros.

“Being nominated for one award would be special, but four awards is truly unbelievable,” said Pastrana. “I’ve had just an amazing year and to be recognized by the industry is an honor.”

Winners will be determined by the combination of fan balloting and a panel of expert judges, then announced during taped ceremonies on November 30. FOX will air the show nationally on December 10, at 2:30 PM ET/PT or 4:30 PM ET/PT either preceding or following local NFL coverage that afternoon (check local listings). FUEL TV, the only 24/7 network dedicated to the lifestyle of action sports, is hosting online voting now for fans and viewers at

“FOX Sports is happy to be working in conjunction with our brethren at FUEL TV to bring the Arby's Action Sports Awards to the entire country," said FOX Sports President Ed Goren.  "Action sports are growing in popularity every year, and this show highlights the best of the best."

The Arby’s Action Sports Awards is produced by Future Mainstream Productions and the award-winning team of Bob Bain and Mike Burg, veterans of such events as the “Nickelodeon Kid’s Choice Awards” and the “Teen Choice Awards.”  FUEL TV is supporting the event with its signature red carpet series “Blue Carpet Special,” a special preview show premiering November 6, and will re-telecast the Arby’s Action Sports Awards throughout December.

“The growth and popularity of action sports is at an all-time high and it is time to honor such amazing feats as Shaun White’s Olympic Gold Medal and Travis Pastrana’s double backflip at the X Games,” said Bain. “Not only do children aspire to be the next Pastrana or White, but the music and entertainment industries have a true affinity for these sports, so we look forward to putting together a memorable event for viewers.”

Arby’s has signed on to be the presenting sponsor and other major sponsors include Jeep®, Activision and Nike. “Through this event, we’ve been able to create an unprecedented integrated marketing platform to reach the highly sought-after male 14-34 demo in the fourth quarter,” said Burg. “For a creative and aggressive marketer, the opportunities to work with the show are endless”

“This was a fantastic opportunity for us to partner with a brand new awards program that recognizes young athletes for extraordinary talents,” said Debra Mager, Senior Vice President of National Advertising, Arby’s Restaurant Group, Inc. “These kids take risks and excel at being different, which is something we at Arby’s have always prided ourselves on.”

A panel of industry experts nominated the top athletes in 20 different categories. Many of the awards are sport and gender specific such as Skateboarder of the Year (male and female) and FMX Rider of the Year. Achievements that transcend the genre have been nominated in categories such as Rider of the Year, Huevos Grande and Performance of the Year. The following is a complete list of awards and nominees:

Action Sports Performance of the Year
Jamie Bestwick   BMX - Dew Action Sports Tour post surgery
Chris Cole   Skate - Video Part in “New Blood”
Travis Pastrana   FMX – X Games, Dew Action Sports Tour
Shaun White   Snow - Gold medal runs
Kelly Slater   Surf – Contending for 8th ASP title
Hannah Teter   Snow - Gold medal runs

Rider of the Year
Jamie Bestwick   BMX
Danny Harf   Wake
Travis Pastrana   FMX
Ryan Sheckler   Skate
Kelly Slater   Surf
Shaun White   Snow

Rookie of the Year
Danny Davis    Snow
Elena Hight    Snow
Bobby Martinez   Surf
Anthony Napolitan   BMX
Nyjah Huston   Skate

Skateboarder of the Year (M)    Skateboarder of the Year (F)
Bob Burnquist      Cara-Beth Burnside
Chris Cole      Amy Caron
Sandro Dias      Lyn-Z Adams Hawkins
Nyjah Huston      Mimi Knoop
Bucky Lasek      Jen O’Brien
Ryan Scheckler      Elissa Steamer
Jereme Rogers      Vanessa Torres

BMX Rider of the Year (M)
Jamie Bestwick
Scotty Cranmer
Ryan Guettler
Chad Kagy
Anthony Napolitan
Ryan Nyquist
Luke Parslow 

FMX Rider of the Year (M)
Nate Adams
Kenny Bartram
Adam Jones
Mike Mason
Travis Pastrana
Mat Rebeaud
Jeremy “Twitch” Stenberg

Motocross Rider of the Year (M)
Ricky Carmichael
Tyler Evans
Davi Millsaps
Chad Reed
James “Bubba” Stewart
Kevin Windham

Surfer of the Year (M)    Surfer of the Year (F)
Taj Burrow     Rochelle Ballard
Mick Fanning     Layne Beachley
Andy Irons     Chelsea Georgeson
Bruce Irons     Keala Kennelly
Rob Machado     Sofia Mulanovich
Kelly Slater     Melanie Redman-Carr

Wakeboarder of the Year (M)   Wakeboarder of the Year (F)
Andrew Adkison     Emily Copeland-Durham
Danny Harf      Dallas Friday
Rusty Malinoski     Tara Hamilton
Tino Santori     Maeghan Major
Phillip Soven     Melissa Marquardt
Daniel Watkins     Amber Wing

Snowboarder of the Year (M)   Snowboarder of the Year (F)
Mason Aguirre      Hana Beaman
Andy Finch      Gretchen Bleiler
Jeremy Jones (Jibber, Burton)   Torah Bright
Jeremy Jones (Big Mtn – Rossi)   Lindsey Jacobellis
Danny Kass     Janna Meyen
Jussi Oksanen     Leanne Pelosi
Travis Rice     Hannah Teter
Shaun White

Skier of the Year (M)    Skier of the Year (F)
Pep Fujas     Ingrid Backstrom
Tanner Hill     Sarah Burke
Shane McConkey     Grete Eliason   
Seth Morrison     Kristi Leskinen
Jon Olsson
Candide Thovex

Best Slam
Allan Cooke   BMX - Dew Action Sports Tour (Denver)
Garrett McNamara  Surf - Shark Island
Jeremy "Twitch" Stenberg  FMX - Dew Action Sports Tour (Louisville)

Huevos Grande
Ryan Capes   FMX - Moto jump 317 ft
Shane Dorian    Surf - Teahupoo barrel
Brad Gerlach    Surf - 68 ft wave
Travis Pastrana   FMX - double backflip
Jeremy “Twitch” Stenberg  FMX - 154 ft  backflip
Danny Way   Skate - Great Wall jump or Hard Rock bomb drop

New Pollution – (up-and-coming groms)
John John Florence   Surf
Elena Hight   Snow
Nyjah Huston    Skate
Luke Mitrani   Snow
Carissa Moore   Surf

Comeback of the Year
Nate Adams    FMX - After Broken leg, back on this year
Jamie Bestwick    BMX - After fused neck, back in Dew Acton Sports Tour Louisville
Brian Deegan    FMX - MTV crash, competed at X Games best trick
Ryan Guettler    BMX - After Crash in Louisville, back in Dew Action Sports Tour San Jose
Richie Lovett    Surf - Cancer, back surfing by Trestles
Shaun Murray    Wake – Announced retirement, recovered from two knee injuries