Bench Racing Ammo:  2014 Team Guide 1.0

Bench Racing Ammo 2014 Team Guide 1.0

October 4, 2013 1:00pm
October 1 is really New Year’s Day in this sport, as most deals begin and end on that date. So how are teams shaping up now? Here’s our first Silly Season Report—and look for plenty of updates as Anaheim gets closer.

Red Bull KTM

Marvin Musquin

Ryan Dungey (450)

Ken Roczen (450)

NOTES: Ken Roczen will move up and be paired alongside Ryan Dungey in the 450 Class. Marvin Musquin returns as a 250 rider.

Ryan Dungey.
Simon Cudby photos

Rockstar Energy Racing KTM

Jason Anderson

Joey Savatgy

Davi Millsaps (450)

GONE FROM LAST YEAR: Ryan Sipes, Blake Wharton, Nico Izzi

ADDED: Joey Savatgy

NOTES: Rockstar Energy Racing will switch from Suzuki to KTM. Newcomer Joey Savatgy will join holdovers Davi Millsaps and Jason Anderson, although we hear Millsaps and Anderson are probably both out for Monster Cup. We’re not sure about Savatgy. Savatgy, the 2012 Monster Energy Supercross Rookie of the Year spent outdoors under the FMF/Orange Brigade KTM tent after J-Star/JDR KTM folded following supercross.

Joey Savatgy.


Matt Goerke

Andrew Short


NOTES: Veteran Michael Byrne will not return in 2014. After joining the team midway through supercross, Andrew Short signed a two-year extension during the summer, keeping him on the team through 2015. Goerke also re-signed for ’14.

Andrew Short.

Monster Energy Kawasaki

Ryan Villopoto

Jake Weimer

NOTES: Monster Energy Kawasaki has Ryan Villopoto locked in for two more years. Jake Weimer had a two-year deal and will be back for 2014.

Ryan Villopoto.

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki

Adam Cianciarulo

Martin Davalos

Darryn Durham

Justin Hill

Blake Baggett

Dean Wilson


NOTES: The Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki fleet has been trimmed by one with Tyla Rattray heading back to Europe to contend the GPs with factory Husqvarna. Dean Wilson will contest both Monster Energy Supercross and Lucas Oil Pro Motocross on the 250. Wilson will race the Monster Energy Cup on a 450. Amateur rider Thomas Covington is expected to join the team come Hangtown.

Blake Baggett.

Team Honda Muscle Milk

Justin Barcia

Trey Canard

NOTES: No changes for Honda Muscle Milk.

Trey Canard.


Matt Bisceglia

Zach Bell

Justin Bogle

Zach Osborne

Wil Hahn (450)

Eli Tomac (450)


ADDED: Matt Bisceglia

NOTES: GEICO Honda will undergo significant changes entering the 2014 season. Eli Tomac and Wil Hahn re-signed to race 450s indoors. Meanwhile, reigning Horizon Award winner Matt Bisceglia joins Zach Bell, Justin Bogle and Zach Osborne in the 250 Class.

Eli Tomac.

Lucas Oil/Troy Lee Designs Honda

Cole Seely

Jessy Nelson

Shane McElrath

GONE FROM LAST YEAR: Christian Craig

ADDED: Shane McElrath

NOTES: Christian Craig announced his retirement from professional racing this off-season and will not return to the team. (You can read more about it here.) Rookie Shane McElrath will join Jessy Nelson and Cole Seely in the 250SX West Region. Seely is expected to move to the 450 Class for Lucas Oil Pro Motocross. The team has yet to announce if Malcolm Stewart, who filled in for Craig outdoors, will return in 2014.

Jessy Nelson.

Yoshimura Suzuki

James Stewart

NOTES: No changes to the Yoshimura Suzuki team.

James Stewart.

RCH Racing Dodge/Sycuan Suzuki

Broc Tickle

NOTES: Broc Tickle returns for his second year with the team. RCH went after both Chad Reed and Eli Tomac in the off-season, but Tomac returned to GEICO Honda and Reed stayed with his own team. The team is expected to have another rider in 2014, it will likely be Josh Hill again.

Broc Tickle.

Toyota/JGR Yamaha

Justin Brayton

Josh Grant

NOTES: Justin Brayton returns for the second year of a two-year deal. Josh Grant re-signed with the team in September. The deal is reportedly for one year.

Josh Grant.

MyPlash/Metal Mulisha/Star Racing Yamaha

Jeremy Martin

Cooper Webb

NOTES: Last year’s dynamic rookie duo of Jeremy Martin and Cooper Webb return to the form a young 1-2 punch for Star Racing. Veteran Kyle Cunningham, who spent the last few years with the team, is not expected to return. This team also has a few amateur riders locked in.

Cooper Webb.

TwoTwo Motorsports

Chad Reed

NOTES: Two major questions surround Reed and TwoTwo Motorsports for next season: (1) Will Reed bring on another rider? (2) What brand will the team be competing on?

Chad Reed.


Mike Alessi

NOTES: Mike Alessi returns after re-signing with the team during the season. The team has yet to announce any additional members.

Mike Alessi.

JAB Motorsports

Matt Lemoine

NOTES: After suffering a torn ACL in Monster Energy Supercross in 2013, Matt Lemoine will be back with JAB Motorsports in 2014. Lemoine is still unsure if he will be racing the 450 or 250 for 2014, as he told Racer X in September.

Matt Lemoine.

51 FIFTY Energy

Jake Canada

NOTES: Going into its third year of racing, 51 Fifty Energy has tabbed Jake Canada to compete in the 250SX West Region for 2014.

Jake Canada.

We’re still waiting on confirmation of other rumors….There’s a new team coming out of Oklahoma with Jimmy Albertson and Colt Nichols…We expect Nick Wey will be back in Monster Energy Supercross with his Moto Mafia MC unit…Valli Motorsports might make a return…. What about Team Tedder?...What about Blake Wharton, Nico Izzi, Ryan Sipes and others?...Who will be Chad Reed’s teammate?...We’re hearing crazy things that could even impact the teams listed above…Could Christophe Pourcel be back to race 250 outdoors? Looked good for a while but that trail seems to be growing cold…As always: Where’s J-Law?