Lake Elsinore:  450 Moto 1 Report

Lake Elsinore: 450 Moto 1 Report

August 24, 2013 4:50pm

Ryan Villopoto may have already clinched the 450 title, but he hasn’t clocked out of the 2013 season yet. The Monster Energy Kawasaki rode just as hard as any other race he lined up for this season en route to another moto win. He didn’t start out front, though.

JGR Yamaha’s Josh Grant pulled a huge holeshot over Justin Barcia and Brett Metcalfe around the high-speed start straight. Both of the Ryans were able to start inside of the top ten and began to move up through the pack of elite riders early on. Villopoto led the charge with Dungey in tow and the two moved in behind second-place Barcia. Villopoto made his pass on Barcia in the turn before the finish line step-up, but Dungey still had some distance to close up before he had his shot. Villopoto was already looking for opportunities to pass Grant by the time Dungey had moved up on Barcia. After a few laps and a couple mistakes from Grant, Villopoto finally found his window. Dungey was able to get Barcia down the finish line straight soon after, which was the same section Villopoto passed him.

Meanwhile, Tyla Rattray was on the move up from the deep end of the top ten. He made it up to sixth and started applying the heat on Barcia before something caused him to slow to a cruising pace. It was unlikely that it was a mechanical issue; he was able to pick his pace back up after a couple laps.

Dungey was able to get by Grant as the two-lap board came out, but Villopoto was long gone. Grant held on for third, which marks his second podium finish in the season.

450 Moto 1 Results
1. Ryan Villopoto
2. Ryan Dungey
3. Josh Grant
4. Trey Canard
5. Justin Barcia
6. Andrew Short
7. Tyla Rattray
8. Jake Weimer
9. Malcolm Stewart
10. Brett Metcalfe
11. Broc Tickle
12. Mike Alessi
13. Ryan Sipes
14. Justin Brayton
15. Phil Nicoletti
16. Ben LaMay
17. Nick Wey
18. Matt Goerke
19. Austin Howell
20. Derek Anderson

Click HERE for full 450 moto 1 results.