Unadilla 250 Moto 1 Report

Unadilla 250 Moto 1 Report

August 18, 2012 2:35pm

It took nine rounds and eighteen motos, but the wait for reigning MX2 Champion Ken Roczen is finally over. Roczen captured his first career moto win in the United States in moto one at Unadilla. After a couple heart-breaking defeats late in motos, including last week at Southwick, Roczen was never challenged down the stretch en route to his captivating win.

For the second straight week GEICO Honda rookie Zach Bell was able to grab the early lead over Roczen and Blake Baggett. But for the second straight week Bell threw it away with an early crash. Bell would rebound to finish eighth in the first moto.

From there it was the Ken Roczen show. Roczen’s teammate, Marvin Musquin, quickly moved around Baggett and GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle to move into second but never posed a threat to Roczen. Musquin would finish second behind his Red Bull KTM teammate.

Baggett finished third, but got more help from Justin Barcia in the championship chase as Barcia finished a disappointing seventh. The Rockstar Energy Suzuki duo of Blake Wharton and Jason Anderson would round out the top five.

250 Moto 1 Overall

  1. Ken Roczen
  2. Marvin Musquin
  3. Blake Baggett
  4. Blake Wharton
  5. Jason Anderson
  6. Eli Tomac
  7. Justin Barcia
  8. Zach Bell
  9. Wil Hahn
  10. Malcolm Stewart
  11. Justin Bogle
  12. Jake Canada
  13. Martin Davalos
  14. Jessy Nelson
  15. Cole Thompson
  16. Travis Baker
  17. Ryan Zimmer
  18. Jeremy Martin
  19. Mike McDade
  20. Broc Schmelyun
  21. Jackson Richardson
  22. Zack Freeberg
  23. Dakota Tedder
  24. Tony Lorusso
  25. Vann Martin
  26. Tevin Tapia
  27. Chris Canning
  28. I. Pazos
  29. Mitchell Dougherty
  30. Justin Starling
  31. Kyle Bitterman
  32. Steve Roman
  33. Kyle Peters
  34. Daniel Herrlein
  35. M. Babbitt
  36. AJ Catanzaro
  37. Alex Martin
  38. Ryan Sipes
  39. Jacob Hayes
  40. Shawn Rife