250 Moto 1 Report: Thunder Valley

250 Moto 1 Report: Thunder Valley

June 25, 2011 5:00pm

The question heading into Round 5 of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship was who was going to be able to break the stranglehold Pro Circuit has held on the 250 class? Early on it looked like Justin Barcia was up for the challenge as he grabbed the early lead. Dean Wilson followed suit with Darryn Durham, Gareth Swanepoel, Kyle Cunningham and Blake Baggett in tow.

It was an all out blood bath early on as the leaders fought over positioning. Barcia and Wilson were leading the pack with Baggett closing in on the lead after bullying his way past the Star Racing duo of Cunningham and Swanepoel, and Eleven 10Mods Darryn Durham. Meanwhile point’s leader Tyla Rattray was buried mid-pack trying to fight his way into the top-ten.

Kyle Cunningham had made his way into fourth before having to pull off due to mechanical troubles. It was a tough break for the Star Racing Yamaha rider who was charging hard early in the race.

Longtime rivals Justin Barcia and Dean Wilson were in a heated battle for the lead early with Baggett hot on their tailpipes. Able to fight off the Pro Circuit barrage for a majority of the race, Barcia finally succumbed to the pressure of Wilson and Baggett and was dropped by both riders. The bad luck continued for Barcia as he crashed shortly after trying to battle back for the top spot. Barcia would rebound in fifth but the damage had been done.

Meanwhile Wilson and Baggett swapped the lead a couple of times before El Chupacabra was finally able to distance himself from Wilson. Behind the leaders a charging Eli Tomac had the crowd on their feet as he charged past Durham for third.

Baggett would hold off Wilson for the moto one win. Tomac would take third followed by Durham who continues to impress. Rattray would rebound from a bad start and battle back to take fifth. Swanepoel, Broc Tickle, Cole Seely, Justin Barica and Travis Baker would round out the top-ten.

250 Moto 1 Results

  1. Baggett
  2. Wilson
  3. Tomac
  4. Durham
  5. Rattray
  6. Swanepoel
  7. Tickle
  8. Seely
  9. Barcia
  10. Baker
  11. Martin
  12. Izzi
  13. Stewart
  14. Paluzzi
  15. R. Sipes
  16. Audette
  17. Lemoine
  18. Renner
  19. Champion
  20. Howell