ADB Awards Recognize Australian Riders

  • The venue.
  • Jan Blizzard
  • Reed, Lovett, and Leisk
  • All the champions.
ADB Awards Recognize Australian Racers Having quickly established itself as the Australian off-road motorcycling industry’s night of nights, the third annual ADB Awards – held last Friday at a swish Sydney harbourside venue – was bigger and better than ever. Around 320 industry players, media and riders got together for the sit-down dinner and awards ceremony, with Network Ten’s Greg Rust performing MC duties.

The seven category winners for the 2009 ADB Readers’ Choice Awards were:
  • Jay Wilson – Junior Rider of the Year
  • Jemma Wilson – Women’s Rider of the Year
  • Toby Price – Rookie Rider of the Year
  • Cam Sinclair – Freestyle MX Rider of the Year
  • Jarrod Bewley – Off-Road Rider of the Year
  • Jay Marmont – MX/SX Rider of the Year
  • Chad Reed – International Rider of the Year
With all 13 of season 2009’s major Australian, AMA and World champions in the room at the one time, it was only fitting to have a Parade of Champions for an on-stage group photo and Q&A session. Guests then witnessed two more of the sport’s icons  – Jeff Leisk and Phil Lovett – being inducted into the ADB Hall of Fame. Jan and Arthur Blizzard were then announced as recipients of the coveted Geoff Eldridge Lifetime Achievement Award, where an individual’s outstanding long-term contribution to off-road motorcycling is acknowledged.

According to ADB Editor, Sam Maclachlan, “Aside from paying tribute to the current crop of young riders who’ve also proved to be popular with ADB’s readers, the ADB Awards is also about looking back at where we’ve come from. As ADB’s Andy Wigan intended when he started this, it’s about acknowledging the contribution made by inspirational characters who’ve shaped the sport and the industry, and who’ve created opportunities for the rest of us.”