Trampas Parker Goes Cross-Country


  • Trampas Parker
  • Trampas Parker
Over 140 racers gathered at Leesville Motorsports Park for Round 10 of the Louisiana Cross Country Series.  This is the second time the LACC Series stops at Leesville: the first time being in September.  With the exception of a few mud bogs the ground conditions were ideal and weather was nice and cool. 

Leading the XC1 Expert pack around the first turn was Klim USA’s Stephen Sturges (KTM.)  Two-time World Motocross Champion / AMA Hall of Famer Trampas Parker (Yam), quickly took the lead and was closely followed by Suzuki City’s Stephen Reed and MTA/Bridgestone’s Jonathan Plunkett (Suz) at the end of the first lap.  Fellow racers and spectators were impressed by Parker’s skills on the motocross track and in the woods.  He was the only rider who turned a single/table top section of the track into a double of some sort.  Parker also held his lead while riding the last three laps on a flat tire.  Showing his abilities on the off-road side he made the extreme obstacles such as the Maxxis Moguls, the MTA Concrete Pile, and the Open Throttle Culvert Jump look easy.  Reed went on to finish second while Plunkett DNF’d handing over the final podium spot to Sturges. 

The outcome of the XC2 Expert Lites class was no surprise as Cycle Gear/FMF’s Jason Reine (KTM) captured another win followed by Honda of Lafayette’s Ryan Breaux and Mike’s Outdoors' rider Clint Woods (Yam) in third.  After a great battle in the Vintage class, Kevin Hutchinson (’78 Husq Auto) took the win over second place Mark Ray (’81 Kaw 420) and third place went to Jimmy Winn (’85 Yam IT 200).  Many class championships were determined at this final round, so congratulations to the riders who toughed it out and won the last race of the season to earn their No. 1 Championship Plates!

About the series:  The LACC 10-event Championship Series is promoted by and made possible by title sponsor MTA, Deb's Creative Photography, Open Throttle Moto-Parts & Accessories, Performance Cycles, Powersport Grafx, KTM, City Cycles of Baton Rouge, Moose Racing, Honda of Lafayette, Billy's Inc., Jester Designs, AOK Services, Cajun Tie Downs, and Cornerstone Glass.

Overall Top 5:
  1. Trampas Parker (Yam)
  2. Stephen Reed (Suz)
  3. Stephen Sturges (KTM)
  4. Jason Reine (KTM)
  5. Ryan Breaux (Hon)