Seattle SX Notes

April 22, 2008 11:33am

AMA Supercross Class Stats – Seattle

  • First race February 18th, 1978 and Jimmy Ellis won on a Honda. It was his first and only win on a Honda.

  • This is the 37th time the gate will drop in Seattle for an AMA Supercross race.

  • This is the fourth race at Quest Field.

  • From 1978-1999, the AMA Supercross race was held at the Seattle King Dome.

  • First time winners in Seattle: Darrel Shultz-1981, Rick Johnson-1984, Jeff Ward-1984, Larry Ward-1990.

  • In 1984 the Seattle stop was a double header weekend in Seattle. Jeff Ward and Rick Johnson won their first AMA Supercross class races.

  • From 1979-1989, the King Dome hosted double header races.

  • Riders to sweep double headers at the King Dome: Mike Bell-1980, Darrel Shultz-1981, Bob Hannah-1983, Ron Lechien-1985, Rick Johnson-1987 & 1989.

  • Larry Ward won his first AMA Supercross class race at the King Dome in 1990 on a Suzuki. Nine years later, he won his last race in Seattle on a Suzuki; it was the last race ever held at the King Dome.

Wins by Brand in Seattle

  • Honda-16

  • Yamaha-8

  • Kawasaki-7

  • Suzuki-5

  • Last win by brand: Kawasaki-2007, Suzuki-1998, Yamaha-1998, Honda-1996.

  • Kevin Windham won the Lites race at the King Dome in 1996. Twelve years later in Seattle he will be making his 135th AMA Supercross class start.

AMA Supercross Class St. Louis Notables:

  • Kevin Windham earned the 15th win of his career and the third of this season. He is now 11th on the all time AMA Supercross class career win list.

  • Honda earned their fifth win of the season, and it was the third sweep of the season.

  • It was Honda's first back to back AMA Supercross class wins since Windham accomplished it in 2004.

  • Chad Reed earned his 11th podium of the season, and the 84th of his career.

  • Andrew Short earned his third podium of the season.

AMA Supercross Lites Stats – Seattle:

  • This will be the 24th time the gate will drop for an AMA SX Lites race in Seattle.

  • First race February 8th 1985 and  Bader Manneh, won on a Kawasaki.

  • Kawasaki won the first-ever Lites race in Seattle in 1985.

  • Kawasaki won the last Lites race in the King Dome in 1999.

  • Kawasaki won the first Lites race at Quest Field in 2005. Kawasaki won four in a row in Seattle.

  • Wins by brand: Kawasaki-11, Honda-5, Suzuki-4, Yamaha-3.

AMA Supercross  Lites Class St. Louis Notables

  • Honda won East Coast Lites title.

  • It was Honda's fifth Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites title.

  • Honda’s Lites class champs: Keith Turpin-1986, Brian Swink-1991, Doug Henry-1993, Davi Milsaps-1006, Trey Canard-2008.

  • Pro Circuit has finished in second place in the Lites class three times.

AMA Supercross Class Laps Led

Chad Reed                                146

David Millsaps                           44

Kevin Windham                          40

James Stewart                           20

Josh Hill                                    17

Grant Langston                          17

Travis Preston                              1

Eric Sorby                                   1


AMA Supercross Lites Class Laps Led

Trey Canard                                49

Jason Lawrence                          47

Ryan Villopoto                           31

Ryan Dungey                             29

Josh Grant                                 16

Austin Stroupe                           15

Jake Weimer                               5

Branden Jesseman                      5

Daniel Reardon                            4

Broc Hepler                                 3


Progressive Holeshot Award (AMA Supercross Class)

Grant Langston (Anaheim 1)

Mike Alessi (Phoenix)

Mike Alessi (Anaheim 2)

Tim Ferry (San Francisco)

Chad Reed (Anaheim 3)

David Millsaps (San Diego)

David Millsaps (Houston)

Chad Reed (Atlanta)

Chad Reed (Indianapolis)

Ryan Dungey (Minneapolis)

Chad Reed (Toronto)

Travis Preston (Irving)

Eric Sorby (Detroit)

Kelly Smith (St. Louis)


Progressive Holeshot Award (AMA Supercross Lites Class)

Matt Lemoine (Anaheim 1)

Jake Weimer (Phoenix)

Austin Stroupe (Anaheim 2)

Thomas Hahn (San Francisco)

Austin Stroupe (Anaheim 3)

Jason Lawrence (San Diego)

Ryan Dungey (Houston)

Trey Canard (Atlanta)

Trey Canard (Indianapolis)

Josh Grant (Minneapolis)

Ryan Smith (Toronto)

Josh Grant (Irving)

Ryan Villopoto (Detroit)

Trey Canard (St. Louis)


MMI Top Tech Award

Oscar Wirdeman (Anaheim 1)

Jeremy Hoyer (Phoenix)

Vincent Bereni (Anaheim 2)

Brian Calmu (San Francisco)

Dana Wiggins (Anaheim 3)

John Boyd (San Diego)

Pro Circuit (Houston)

Jesse Black (Atlanta)

Jim Marsack (Indianapolis)

Chris Rohde (Minneapolis)

Forrest Butler (Toronto)

Jay Burgess (Irving)

Jamie Ellis (Detroit)

Brent Presnell (St Louis)


U.S Smokeless Tobacco Company Pro Privateer Challenge

1.  Paul Carpenter          136 points

2.  Heath Voss               109 points

3.  Jason Thomas             86 points


Asterisk Medic Card

Ryan Grantom (Anaheim 1)

Michael Willard (Phoenix)

Chris Blose (Anaheim 2)

Ryan Beat (San Francisco)

Jeff Northrop (Anaheim 3)

Kyle Cunningham (San Diego)

Ryan Grantom (Houston)

Justin Sipes (Atlanta)

Levi Kilbarger (Indianapolis)

Willy Browning (Minneapolis)

David Sterritt (Toronto).

Willy Browning (Irving)

Mitch Dougherty (Detroit)

Matt Boni (St. Louis)


Racer X Gas Card

Cole Siebler (Anaheim 1)

Ryan Abrigo (Phoenix)

Troy Adams (Anaheim 2)

Greg Crater (San Francisco)

Kyle Mace (Anaheim 3)

Ryan Clark (San Diego)

Eric Sorby (Houston)

Christopher Gosselaar (Atlanta)

Ryan Clark (Indianapolis)

Jiri Dostal (Minneapolis)

Kevin Johnson (Toronto)

Kevin Johnson (Irving).

Troy Adams (Detroit)

Chad Johnson (St. Louis)


AMA Supercross Class Results, St. Louis

  1. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda

  2. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha

  3. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda

  4. Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha

  5. Thomas Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Kawasaki

  6. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda

  7. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM

  8. Paul Carpenter, Ithaca, N.Y., Honda

  9. Travis Preston, Hesperia, Calif., Kawasaki

  10. Jason Thomas, Melrose, Fla., Honda


AMA Supercross Class Season Standings

  1. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha, 318

  2. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda, 305

  3. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda, 244

  4. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 241

  5. Joshua Hill,