Points Leader Reed Fights Through Pain

April 15, 2008 11:47am

St. Louis’ Edward Jones Dome to Host Round 15 This Saturday

AURORA, Ill. (April 15, 2008) – The Monster Energy® Supercross, an FIM World Championship, story line took an interesting turn last Saturday night at Detroit’s Ford Field, and this Saturday night St. Louis’ Edward Jones Dome could play host to the most influential race of the season.

AMA Supercross class points leader Chad Reed, of Tampa, Fla., suffered a horrific crash in practice, forcing him to use an AMA Provisional, which allows for a rider within the top 10 in points to advance directly to the main, where he would eventually finish in 12th place. Coming into the race Reed, who has eight wins this season, had a 27-point lead over Torco Fuels Honda’s Kevin Windham. Heading into St. Louis Reed is now only 17 points ahead of Windham.

The Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites class also took an interesting turn as points leader Trey Canard, of Elk City, Okla., came into Detroit with a 17-point lead over Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, of Poulsbo, Wash., and after finishing 10th-place in the main event, his points lead dwindled down to just three points. This weekend is the culminating round of the Eastern Regional AMA Supercross championship, and a champion will be crowned.

“I do not know how I made it through the main event,” said Reed. “I have always been able to go out and grit my teeth, but this is the toughest race I have ever been in. When I crashed, I was scared for my life. I just put my head down and went for it tonight. This is a title chase, and I am here for the championship.”

When he was asked if he was going to race in St. Louis, Reed confidently responded, “I’ll be there.”

Red Bull Honda’s Davi Millsaps did win his second race of the season in the AMA Supercross class at Ford Field and Villopoto won the AMA Supercross Lites class main event win.

The AMA Supercross class race from St. Louis will air on CBS Sports Sunday, April 20 at Noon. The AMA Supercross Lites class race will air on SPEED Sunday, April 26 at 4:30 p.m.

Media day will be held on in Room 145 at the Edward Jones Dome Thursday from Noon-2:00, featuring Yamaha of Troy’s Ryan Morais, Tyler Bowers and Zach Osborne.

Last year five-time AMA Supercross champion Ricky Carmichael won the main event before 58,131 fans inside the Edward Jones Dome. Reed grabbed the $1,500 Progressive Holeshot Award to start the 20-lap main event. On the opening lap, Reed tangled with Kawasaki’s James Stewart, dropping the riders from the top two positions. Carmichael was the benefactor and took the lead on lap four, overcoming his poor start.

Ben Townley captured the first AMA Supercross Lites class win of his career in St. Louis last year en route to winning his first AMA Supercross Lites championship.

The first AMA Supercross race was held inside the Edward Jones Dome April 27, 1996, and Kawasaki’s Jeff Emig, a Missouri native, won the main event, snapping Jeremy McGrath’s 13-race win streak. In front of his hometown crowd Emig notched the first of 20 AMA Supercross class wins of his career. Reed has won in three of four starts in St. Louis, but Carmichael holds the all-time win record in the Gateway City with four. Windham, Carmichael, Reed and McGrath have all won in both classes at St. Louis.

Club Seats are available for $45 Adult/Kids; Goldcircle Seats are $30; Mid-Level Seats are $25 Adults/$10 Kids; Extreme Seats are $20 for Adults/$10 Kids; Treadhead® Seats are $10. All tickets are available at the Edward Jones Box Office, www.Ticketmaster.com, participating Yamaha dealers and www.SupercrossOnline.com.

AMA Supercross Class Results, Detroit

  1. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda

  2. Tim Ferry, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki

  3. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda

  4. Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha

  5. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda

  6. Travis Preston, Hesperia, Calif., Kawasaki

  7. David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki

  8. Charles Summey, Huntersville, N.C., Yamaha

  9. Heath Voss, Mico, Texas, Honda

  10. Jason Thomas, Melrose, Fla., Honda

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings

  1. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha, 296

  2. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda, 280

  3. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda, 229

  4. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 221

  5. Joshua Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha, 191

  6. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 189

  7. Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha, 155

  8. David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 137

  9. Paul Carpenter, Ithaca, N.Y., Honda, 123

  10. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., KTM, 121

AMA Supercross Lites Class Results, Detroit

  1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki

  2. Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha

  3. Branden Jesseman, New Brighton, Pa., Kawasaki

  4. Nico Izzi, Saint Clair., Mich., Suzuki

  5. Matt Goerke, Lake Helen, Fla., KTM

  6. Tyler Bowers, Danville, Ken., Yamaha

  7. Kyle Partridge, Menifee, Calif., Honda

  8. Kyle Chisholm, Seminole, Fla., Kawasaki

  9. Travis Sewell, Westville, Ind., Suzuki

  10. Trey Canard, Elk City, Okla., Honda


Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings

  1. Trey Canard, Elk City, Okla., Honda, 122

  2. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 119

  3. Nico Izzi, Saint Clair., Mich., Suzuki, 86

  4. Tyler Bowers, Danville, Ken., Yamaha, 76

  5. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., KTM, 73

  6. Branden Jesseman, New Brighton, Pa., Kawasaki, 72

  7. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Honda, 71

  8. Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ken., KTM, 70

  9. Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 68

  10. Billy Payne, Simi Valley, Calif., Honda, 60


Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings

  1. Jason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha, 135

  2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 129

  3. Austin Stroupe, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki, 113

  4. Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 112

  5. Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Kawasaki, 101

  6. Dan Reardon, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 95

  7. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 85

  8. Robert Kiniry, LaFayette, N.Y., Kawasaki, 71

  9. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Yamaha, 69

  10. Billy Laninovich, Lake Elsinore, Calif., KTM 62


Past Winners in St. Louis


AMA Supercross Class
March 3, 2007:               Ricky Carmichael

February 18, 2006:         Chad Reed

March 5, 2005:               Ricky Carmichael

March 13, 2004:             Chad Reed

March 22, 2003:             Chad Reed

April 06, 2002:                Ricky Carmichael

March 31, 2001:             Ricky Carmichael

March 18, 2000:             Jeremy McGrath

March 27, 1999:             Jeremy McGrath

March 28, 1998:             Kevin Windham

April 05, 1997:                Jeremy McGrath

April 27, 1996:                Jeff Emig


AMA Supercross Lites Class
March 3, 2007:               Ben Townley

February 18, 2006:          Davi Millsaps

March 5, 2005:                Grant Langston

March 13, 2004:             James Stewart

March 22, 2003:             Branden Jesseman

April 06, 2002:                Chad Reed

March 31, 2001:             Travis Pastrana

March 18, 2000:             Travis Pastrana

March 27, 1999:             Ernesto Fonseca

March 28, 1998:             Ricky Carmichael

April 05, 1997:                Stephane Roncada

April 27, 1996:                Kevin Windham


For more information on the Monster Energy® AMA Supercross an FIM World Championship please log on to www.SupercrossOnline.com. For all media requests, please contact Denny Hartwig dennyhartwig@livenation.com or 630-566-6305.