Dallas Practice Report

April 5, 2008 4:53pm

The Dallas Supercross track, on the floor of Texas Stadium, isn't a very popular one among the riders. It rained the past couple of days in Texas, and Texas Stadium, for some reason, only has half a roof - it covers the stands, but not the field. For today's practice, the track managed to be simultaneously wet and dusty, depending on the section.

Torco Racing Fuels Honda's Kevin Windham apparently disliked the track so much that he decided to do some track maintenance himself. (Just kidding! He was actually being shown around the dozer by one of the Dirt Wurx guys, and looked to be having a really good time with it.)

Dallas is the first race back for a lot of riders, including many of this year's top Arenacross riders, but not just them.

Justin Buckelew is taking time out of his busy life of teaching motocross schools in Arizona to race for the Chaplin Kawasaki team, in place of Robbie Marshall. He was 18th fastest in practice after riding supercross for less than a week.

AX racer Brock Sellards is making his AMA Supercross return tonight.

Robbie Reynard is doing likewise.

Josh Demuth is recovered from his injury that saw him miss most of the season and is returning to action tonight for the Rockstar/H&H Honda team.

Today saw a new qualifying format, as the riders got five minutes on the track, then the practice was red-flagged, the riders were put back at the start, and then the timed practice was started. This is a step in the right direction from before, when everyone was expected to go out on a track they didn't know and put in fast laps right off.

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki's Ryan Villopoto was the fastest in the Lites class with a 53.937-second time.

Torco Racing Fuels Honda's Josh Grant was second fastest in the Lites with a 54.615.

Villopoto's teammate Branden Jesseman was third fastest in the Lites with a 55.095.

Points leader Trey Canard completed the Factory Connection/Pro Circuit sweep of the top-four spots with the fourth-fastest time - a 55.189.

MDK KTM's Ryan Sipes was fifth fastest in the Lites with a 55.212.

San Manuel Yamaha's Chad Reed put in the fastest time of the 450cc riders, with a 53.573. Villopoto was second fastest overall, behind Reed.

Honda Red Bull Racing's Andrew Short was second fastest in 450s with a 54.632.

Monster Energy Kawasaki's Timmy Ferry was third fastest with a 54.833.

Torco Racing Fuels Honda's Kevin Windham was fourth fastest with a 54.939.

Short's teammate Davi Millsaps was fifth fastest in the 450s with a 55.185.

With the tricky conditions, tonight's race may not be as predictable as could be imagined. Tune in now for the Supercross Live webcast on SupercrossOnline.com starring Jim Holley and Jason Weigandt.