Monster Energy Cernics Kawasaki Ends Season with a Championship

September 6, 2007 10:23am

The Monster Energy Cernics Kawasaki Racing Team capped off a successful 2007 racing season with a CMRC Canadian Motocross Nationals championship.  After both team riders finished in the top 10 of the Amp’d Mobile World Supercross Series earlier in the year, Paul Carpenter won his first championship in the CMRC Canadian Motocross Championships.

Carpenter finished seventh in the World Supercross GP Series and tenth in the AMA Supercross Series.  Jeff Gibson finished tenth in the World Supercross GP Series and eleventh in the AMA Supercross Series.  After the Supercross series, the team secured sponsorship from Monster Energy to compete in the CMRC Canadian Motocross Championships.  Carpenter accomplished that goal of winning the championship with one round remaining and Gibson secured a third place overall.

“What a year for the Monster Energy Cernics Kawasaki Racing Team,” exclaimed team owner, Billy Whitley.  “The whole team worked so hard throughout the year and they deserve to win a championship.  Winning the championship is an end to an excellent season and I want to thank Paul and Jeff and the entire team staff for the effort they put into our program.  If it wasn’t for them, we wouldn’t be celebrating like this.”

The Cernics Kawasaki Racing Team headed into the Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP Series with a goal of finishing in the top ten in championship points.  The season started a little slow for both team riders after less than stellar performances in the first couple of rounds.  However, the two riders put in consistent rounds during the middle part of the season to put the team in the top ten for seven consecutive events.

The outdoor season saw the team head north to compete in the CMRC Canadian Motocross Championships as the Monster Energy Cernics Kawasaki Racing Team.  The team also picked up a third rider, Tucker Hibbert, to compete in the MX2 West Championship.  Carpenter started fast by winning the first two rounds of the series.  He stayed consistent throughout the series and never finished outside of the top five on his way to the championship.  Gibson, on the other hand, started slow while adjusting to the Canadian tracks, but continually improved to place third overall, just one point out of second.

“We had a great year and winning the championship in Canada is a great accomplishment,” said Carpenter.  “The team worked so hard this year and I’m proud to win this for the entire team.  We accomplished our goal of a top ten in Supercross and we won the Canadian championship so I’m very happy.”

Tucker Hibbert joined the team in Canada with hopes of securing a championship in the MX2 West Championship.  The MX2 West Championship is a four-race series where the fastest young riders compete.  Unfortunately, one bad race can cost you a championship and that’s exactly what happened to Hibbert in the first round.  Despite his first round result, he battled hard for the remaining rounds and ended up in seventh position with one overall win.  In fact, he wrapped the season up with a win in the MX2 East-West shootout at the last round of the championship series.  “We had some ups and downs during the season,” said Hibbert.  “The first round hurt us quite a bit but we showed everyone that we were very fast by winning two races.”

“It was a great year,” commented team manager, Derek Sorenson.  “We met and exceeded the team goals that we had set at the beginning of the year and it was all because of the hard work and determination of everyone involved with the team; riders, crew and sponsors.  I would like to congratulate Paul and Jeff on their seasons.  I would also like to thank them, our entire crew, and all our sponsors who made this season possible.”
The team would like to thank Monster Energy, Cernics, Athena, Kawasaki Motor Corporation, Canadian Kawasaki Motors, Pro Circuit, Pirelli, Alpinestars, VP Racing Fuels, Snap-On, RK, Excel, Bell, Cycra, Etnies, Moose Racing, TAG Metals, Silkolene, N-Style, Fast 50s, Motion Pro, OGIO, LightSpeed, UNI, Sunline, ARC, American Racing ATX Series, EBC, Hinson Clutch Components, Spy Optics.