Advertisement | Advertise with Us

Makita Suzuki Houston Report

Round 6 – Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series
Houston, TX
Reliant Stadium
Feb. 10, 2007

Team Makita Suzuki Racing’s Ivan Tedesco brought home another top-10 finish in the Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series, this time at Reliant Stadium in Houston, TX, on Saturday night.  Tedesco’s performance moves him up to ninth place overall in the championship points standings. Teammate Ricky Carmichael did not race due to his abbreviated schedule; the 2006 AMA Supercross and Motocross Champion will return to Supercross at the Atlanta round later this month.

In Saturday night’s second Supercross-class heat race, Tedesco got a great start on his Makita Suzuki RM-Z450 and finished in fourth position in the eight-lap qualifying race.  The 20-lap main event saw Tedesco get a good start and settle into fifth place.  The Makita Suzuki rider put in an impressive ride, but a mid-race get-off resulted in his finishing in eighth place.

“I got a good start in my heat race but I was struggling with the whoops a little bit,” said Tedesco.  “After the heat race, we made some changes to the bike for the main and it felt more comfortable.  In the main, I started out in sixth and got up into fifth and was working my way up to the guys in front of me.  But on lap 12, I made a mistake in the whoops and crashed. I got back up in eighth and just couldn’t get back on it.  Now I’m just focusing on getting my confidence up for San Diego next weekend.”

Team Makita Suzuki Racing will return next week for round seven of the Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego, CA, on Saturday, Feb. 17, 2007.

Ivan Tedesco, Team Makita Suzuki Racing RM-Z450, #9
8th Place – Supercross class, Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series
9th Place – Overall Championship Points Standings

Ricky Carmichael, Team Makita Suzuki Racing RM-Z450, #4
DNR – Supercross class, Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series

Supercross Class Top 10 Finishers:

1. James Stewart, Kawasaki
2. Chad Reed, Yamaha
3. Timmy Ferry, Kawasaki (holeshot)
4. Kevin Windham, Honda
5. Travis Preston, Honda
6. Michael Byrne, Suzuki
7. Heath Voss, Honda
8. Ivan Tedesco, Team Makita Suzuki Racing
9. Paul Carpenter, Kawasaki
10. David Vuillemin, Honda

Supercross Lites Class Top 10 Finishers:

1. Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki (holeshot)
2. Jason Lawrence, Yamaha
3. Josh Grant, Honda
4. Josh Hill, Yamaha
5. Martin Davalos, KTM
6. Jake Weimer, Honda
7. Matt Lemoine, Yamaha
8. Kyle Cunningham, Yamaha
9. Chris Gosselaar, Kawasaki
10. Troy Adams, Suzuki



Motocross & Supercross News - Racer X Online

122 Vista Del Rio Drive, Morgantown, WV 26508 | 304-284-0084 | Contact Us
©1999 - 2014 Filter Publications LLC. All Rights Reserved.
designed at: Website DesignImpulse Studios