Amp'd Mobile World Supercross GP Results, Toronto

December 3, 2006 5:10pm

Dramatic Start to Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP as Reed Wins

Davalos Dominates Supercross Lites Class

TORONTO (December 2, 2006) – Yamaha’s Chad Reed won the opening race of the Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP at Rogers Centre in front of 33,412. KTM’s Martin Davalos led all 15 laps in winning the Amp’d Mobile Supercross Lites main event.

Honda’s Nick Wey grabbed the $1,500 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award with Suzuki’s Ricky Carmichael and Reed in tow. Stewart started in 10th place. Throughout the first lap Reed and Carmichael traded positions, but the start of lap two, Carmichael hit a tuff block and crashed. Stewart moved into second place and put the charge on Reed.

Reed and Stewart swapped positions several times before they came together before the finish line jump on lap 17. Stewart went off the track and upon re-entering Honda’s Travis Preston collided with Stewart, causing both of them to crash. Reed went on to pick up the win. Carmichael battled back to finish second and Stewart finished third.

“I came here with an open mind, and here I am on the top of the podium,” said Reed. “The first time James passed me, he almost knocked me over and that fired me up. It is a shame that he crashed, but that happens. Every time I made a pass, the crowd was so loud.

“I know I am the guy who is in the best shape out there. It would have been nice to have all three of us battling up there tonight. There are a lot of people that helped me put this team together, and I am very appreciative. I am excited to get a win for the team.”

Reed, who won the 2003 World Supercross GP championship, heads to Vancouver’s B.C. Place Stadium with a three-point lead over Carmichael in the season standings. Stewart sits in third with 20 points.

After earning the $1,000 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award, Davalos was able to extend a comfortable lead over Yamaha’s Broc Tickle in the early part of the race. Davalos kept Tickle in check and went on to win his first Amp’d Mobile Supercross Lites main event. KTM’s Zach Osborne was third.

“I got a great jump off the gate and rode my own race,” said Davalos. “I wanted to put 15 laps together on the new bike. Zach Osborne is a training partner of mine, and I am happy.”

Tonight’s race will air on SPEED Sunday, December 3, at 6:00 p.m. EST. The Supercross Lites race will air on Saturday, December 9, at 6:00 p.m. EST.

Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP Event Results, Toronto

   1. Chad Reed, Yamaha
   2. Ricky Carmichael, Suzuki
   3. James Stewart, Kawasaki
   4. Tim Ferry, Kawasaki
   5. David Vuillemin, Honda
   6. Nick Wey, Honda
   7. Ryan Clark, Honda
   8. Paul Carpenter, Kawasaki
   9. Heath Voss, Honda
  10. Jeff Gibson, Kawasaki

Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP Season Standings

   1. Chad Reed, Yamaha, 25
   2. Ricky Carmichael, Suzuki, 22
   3. James Stewart, Kawasaki, 20
   4. Tim Ferry, Kawasaki, 18
   5. David Vuillemin, Honda, 16
   6. Nick Wey, Honda, 15
   7. Ryan Clark, Honda, 14
   8. Paul Carpenter, Kawasaki, 13
   9. Heath Voss, Honda, 12
  10. Jeff Gibson, Kawasaki, 11

Amp’d Mobile Supercross Lites

   1. Martin Davalos, KTM
   2. Broc Tickle, Yamaha
   3. Zach Osborne, KTM
   4. Michael Willard, KTM
   5. Troy Adams, Suzuki
   6. Tyler Medaglia, Suzuki
   7. William Ainsworth, Kawasaki
   8. Robert Marshall, Kawasaki
   9. Benjamin Ritter, Kawasaki
  10. Logan Martin, Honda

KTM Junior Supercross Challenge

   1. Stephane Sum, KTM
   2. Nathan Cryer, KTM
   3. Christopher Fortie, KTM
   4. Tommy Cloutier, KTM
   5. Jake Pym, KTM
   6. Jean Christophe, KTM
   7. Timothy Carr, KTM
   8. Dominick Allen, KTM
   9. Alyson Bilodeau, KTM
  10. Jake Delazzari, KTM
  11. Calvin Barnhart, KTM
  12. Joshua Roney, KTM
  13. Phillippe, Perron, KTM
  14. Tommy Purdon, KTM
  15. Cody Watson, KTM

For more information about the Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP/Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series, please log on to