AMA Names New Committees for Racing, Rights

PICKERINGTON, Ohio -- The American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) has announced the members of two standing committees of the AMA Board of Directors, part a previously announced restructuring designed to increase the Association's effectiveness in its core mission of promoting "rights. riding. racing."

The Racing Committee will be Carl Reynolds (chair), Don Emde, Art More, Jeff Nash, and John Ulrich. Emde is president of Don Emde Productions and a member of the Motorcycle Hall of Fame, and Nash is owner and founder of Advanced Motorsports. More, Reynolds, and Ulrich serve on the AMA Board of Directors.

The Rights Committee will be Stan Simpson (chair), Jon-Erik Burleson, Russ Ehnes, Andy Goldfine, Rick Gray, and Charles Umbenhauer. Ehnes is Executive Director of the National Off-Highway Vehicle Conservation Council, and Umbenhauer is founder of ABATE of Pennsylvania's BIKEPAC. Burleson, Goldfine, Gray, and Simpson serve on the AMA Board of Directors.

"This is an exciting step in creating a more effective and responsive Association," said Patricia DiPietro, AMA Chief Executive Officer. "We're confident in these individuals' expertise and experience, and we're grateful for their commitment to the AMA, its members, and the American motorcycling community."

Each committee will manage strategic planning and direction within its area of the AMA's mission, with the goal of responding to the interests of the AMA's 270,000 members.

The AMA Board of Directors consists of 12 members. Six individual Directors are elected by the general membership in their respective regions and serve three-year terms. Six corporate Directors are elected by the corporate membership and serve two-year terms. The AMA Board of Directors meets four times a year.