Blose and Bess Win the Battle But Demuth Wins the War!

February 11, 2006 6:18am

Now the Race for Second Begins! 

TULSA, OK   (February 10, 2006) – Mike Kidd Entertainment Group brought the action of the K&N presents BooKoo Arenacross Championship Series Brought to you by Toyota to the Tulsa Convention Center Arena for the final round of racing where the champion will be crowned.     

Josh Demuth held strong in Tulsa to take home the inaugural BooKoo Arenacross Championship Series title.
photo by Tony Scavo
Current points leader Josh Demuth, on the Team Babbitt's Enxus Oil Kawasaki, was looking to maintain his lead in the title race as he came into Tulsa this weekend and hoping to take home the championship trophy .

Demuth held a 61-point lead over rival Shane Bess on the Fun Center TLD/PPG Suzuki and 68 points over Tommy Hofmaster on his Sano Systems PPG Motion Cycles Yamaha.  

As the 250 Main Event approached the line all eyes were on the #8 bike of Josh Demuth.  Forced to qualify through the Semi and riding injured, Demuth was obviously vulnerable in the eyes of the rest of the field.

When the gate dropped, Demuth was the last man off the line after stalling the bike on the start. That left Shane Bess to lead the field on the opening lap until Michael Blose on the GPS Racing/Storm Lake Honda took command of the race.

Blose set some incredible lap times in route to his fourth victory of the season, with Bess taking second and local Oklahoma standout Colt Humphrey on the Sano PPG Motion Cycles Yamaha grabbing yet another podium with a solid third place finish in front of his hometown crowd.

In the 450 class Bess had the reaction time off the gate and led Humphrey into the first turn.  Bess was riding with a renewed hunger for the win, the points, and a possible shot at the championship.

Humphrey was out to prove he has what it takes and challenged Bess for the lead several times as the two battled for the position.  Hofmaster was in third right behind the leaders in his own attempt to grab to ever-important championship points.

Humphrey had trouble and went down at the halfway mark allowing teammate Hofmaster to take the second place spot and BooKoo Energy Honda's Tiger Lacey moving into third while Demuth rode around in seventh.   Hofmaster had his own trouble in the 450 Main and lost the position to Lacey and a hard-chargin Josh Woods.

When the dust settled in the Tulsa Arena it was all Bess and his Fun Center TLD/PPG Suzuki that would be the first to cross the line followed by Lacey, Woods, Damien Plotts then Demuth.

Demuth was able to secure enough points to win the inaugural BooKoo Arenacross Championship Title along with the 450 championship as he now commands a thirty point lead over Bess.

"I want to thank the Lord Jesus Christ and my dad for this championship," said an emotional Demuth.  "Without either one of them I wouldn't be where I am right now. This has been a great series and a great experience."

Brad Hagseth came out of the gate on fire in the Dash for Cash and took home the extra money Friday night for the Fun Center TLD/PPG Suzuki team.

The Millville Whoop Monster couldn't get enough of the BooKoo acton in Minneapolis and was on hand again in Tulsa for another weekend of craziness as Shaefer Tracks threw down a few loads of sand to mix it up a bit.

The inaugural series comes to a close Saturday night February 11 in Tulsa at the Tulsa Convention Center Arena.  The race for the 250cc championship will be decided tomorrow night with Demuth, Bess and Hofmaster all still in the hunt and cabable of bringing home the class championship - seventeen points seperate the three.

Tickets are still available at all area Drug Mart locations, , the Convention Center Box Office or by calling 918.584.2000.

250 Main:

1. Michael Blose HON
2. Shane Bess SUZ
3. Colt Humphrey YAM
4. Damien Plotts KAW
5. Josh Woods SUZ
6. Tiger Lacey HON
7. Tom Hofmaster YAM
8. Brad Ripple KAW
9. Riley Kurosky HON
10. Johhny Marley HON
11. Josh Demuth KAW
12. Casey Hinson HON
13. Kurt McCabe HON
14. Brad Hagseth SUZ
15. Chris Blose YAM
16. Brady Sharp HON

450 Main:

1. Shane Bess SUZ
2. Tiger Lacey HON
3. Josh Woods SUZ
4. Damien Plotts KAW
5. Josh Demuth KAW
6. Tom Hofmaster YAM
7. Brad Ripple KAW
8. Colt Humphrey YAM
9. Casey Hinson HON
10. Travis Bannister HON
11. Brad Ripple KAW
12. Mark Graddy SUZ
13. Riley Kurosky HON
14. John Dehn HON
15. Brad Modjewski HON
16. Kurt McCabe HON