Race Report: New Jersey SX

Race Report: New Jersey SX

Advertisement | Advertise with Us

Just minutes from one of the most galvanizing cities in the world, Ryan Villopoto made history. Rain threatened to damper a showcase night for the series, as it returned to the Northeast for the first time since 1991. But over 60,000 strong braved the elements to witness Villopoto wrap up his fourth consecutive title and join Jeremy McGrath as the only riders in history to win four straight championships.

With Martin Davalos sidelined due to an ankle injury, GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle needed just eight point to essentially wrap up his first career championship. He got eight and a lot more as he cruised to the win. Jeremy Martin and Vince Friese would round out the 250SX podium.  

Photo: Cudby
Ryan Villopoto could have cruised to his fourth consecutive championship as he entered the sixteenth round of seventeen with a commanding 48 point lead over James Stewart, instead he took command of the race early and was never really challenged en route to his sixth win of the season.
Photo: Cudby
Photo: Cudby
An early season shoulder injury took some of the wind out of Eli Tomac sail, but we are finally starting to see the potential the former 250SX champion has in the 450 class. Tomac continued his recent strong run riding to a relatively unchallenged second place finish.
Photo: Cudby
Photo: Cudby
Josh Hill has dealt with a magnitude of injuries this season, from his back to his shoulder, but he is finally healthy and riding the best we’ve seen from him since 2010. Hill got off to a great start and although he wasn’t able to hold off Tomac he held on to capture third, his first podium since 2010.
Photo: Cudby
Photo: Cudby
The battle of the night took place between Justin Barcia, Ken Roczen and Ryan Dungey. The trio swapped positions a number of times, with Barcia hanging on in the end to capture fourth at his home race.
Photo: Cudby
 Photo: Cudby
Ken Roczen came out on the short end of the stick in the Barcia battle and had to settle for fifth.
Photo: Cudby
Photo: Cudby
Ryan Dungey slid out late and had to settle for sixth.
Photo: Cudby
Photo: Cudby
James Stewart got buried off the start but was working his way up before he suffered an apparent knee injury. Stewart was seen holding his knee as he left the track. There is no word on his condition at this time.
Photo: Cudby
Not a bad night to be Josh Hill. Photo: Cudby
Not a bad night to be Josh Hill. Photo: Cudby
 Photo: Cudby
Villopoto joined Jeremy McGrath as the only two riders in history to win four consecutive championships.
Photo: Cudby
Not a bad night to be these guys, either.  Photo: Cudby
Not a bad night to be these guys, either.  Photo: Cudby
Photo: photographer
Jimmy Decotis (56) grabbed the 250 holeshot and held the lead for a short period before colliding with Matt Bisceglia and going down. Decotis would finish the night sixth.
Photo: photographer
Photo: Cudby GEICO Honda rookie Matt Bisceglia lead for the first time in his career after getting past Decotis. Bisceglia eventually gave up the lead to Bogle and eventually slid back to fourth—a career high for the youngster.
Photo: Cudby
 Photo: Cudby
After getting past Bisceglia, Bogle held off Jeremy Martin to capture the win. With Davalos on the sidelines, Bogle is the new points leader and will be crowned champion next weekend in Vegas.
Photo: Cudby
 Photo: Cudby
This was the Jeremy Martin we’ve been waiting for. Following early season struggles, Martin has rebounded nicely and captured his second career 250SX podium with a second place finish.
Photo: Cudby
Photo: Cudby
Factory Metal Works/Club MX’s Vince Friese (left) has been waiting on long time to capture his first career podium, but he finally achieved it in East Rutherford.
Photo: Cudby
Bogle celebrates in style! Photo: Cudby
Bogle celebrates in style! Photo: Cudby

450SX Class Results

1. R. Villopoto
2. E. Tomac
3. J. Hill
4. J. Barcia
5. K. Roczen
6. R. Dungey
7. M. Alessi
8. A. Short
9. T. Canard
10. W. Peick
11. J. Weimer
12. P. Nicoletti
13. N. Wey
14. R. Stewart
15. C. Blose
16. J. Grant
17. B. Lamay
18. T. Archer
19. J. Albertson
20. C. Gilmore
21. T. Tapia
22. J. Stewart


450SX Class Season Standings

1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 343 
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 282
3. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki, 271 
4. Ken Roczen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 265
5. Justin Barcia, Pinetta, Fla., Honda, 232 
6. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM, 207
7. Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C., Yamaha, 196
8. Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Suzuki, 144
9. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 126
10. Wil Hahn, Menifee, Calif., Honda, 122

250SX Class Results

1. J. Bogle
2. J. Martin
3. V. Friese
4. M. Bisceglia
5. M. Lemoine
6. K. Cunningham
7. A. Martin
8. M. Oldenburg
9. J. Decotis
10. J. Richardson
11. G. Audette
12. J. Starling
13. A. Catanzaro
14. J. Baumert
15. L. Kilbarger
16. L. Vonlinger
17. Z. Williams
18. C. Clason
19. T. Potter
20. K. Bitterman
21. L. Powell
22. Aa. Gulley

Eastern Regional 250SX Class Season Standings

1. Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda, 166

2. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Kawasaki, 149

3. Adam Cianciarulo, Port Orange, Fla., Kawasaki, 120

4. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., 120

5. Vince Friese, Cape Girardeau, Mo., Honda, 120

6. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Honda, 109

7. Matthew Lemoine, Pilot Point, Texas, Kawasaki, 90

8. James Decotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda, 90

9. Cole Thompson, Brigden, Ontario, KTM, 89

10. Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 86