Dallas Notes Package

February 13, 2014 2:20pm | by:

Monster Energy Supercross Notes Package
Arlington, Texas, AT&T Stadium

450SX Class Stats: Dallas-Fort Worth

►The first race was held on February 28, 1975, and Jimmy Ellis won on a Can-am

►This will be the 34th time the gate will drop for a 450SX Class race in the Dallas-Fort Worth market

►This will be the fifth race at Cowboys Stadium; the previous races were held at Texas Stadium in Irving, Texas

►There was not a race in this market in 2009 because the new Cowboys Stadium was under construction

►In 1986, David Bailey won the last race of his career in this market

►In 1983, Mike Bell won the last race of his career in this market

►In 1997, Jeff Emig won the last race of his career in this market

►Jimmy Ellis gave Can-am their first ever supercross win in 1975 in this market

►In 1977, there were nine different brands in the top-20: Honda, Yamaha, Kawasaki, Maico, Suzuki, Penton, Husqvarna, Bultaco and Ossa

►Only seven riders have won back to back in this market: Jimmy Ellis, 1975-1976; Rick Johnson, 1987-1988; Damon Bradshaw, 1991-1992; Kevin Windham, 1999-2000; Ricky Carmichael, 2001-2002; Chad Reed, 2003-2004; Ryan Villopoto, 2012-2013

►Can Villopoto be the first rider to win Dallas three races in-a-row?

►For the first time ever, three different brands have swept 250SX and 450SX Class Main Events, Honda, KTM and Kawasaki

►Only four riders, Dungey, Reed, Stewart and Villopoto, have won back-to-back since 2009

►The second stop of the Toyota Challenge that awards the winner of three races (Anaheim race three, Arlington and East Rutherford) $250,000 and a 2014 Toyota Tundra; Chad Reed is the current points leader in this series

450SX Class: First Time Winners in Dallas-Fort Worth

Rider / Year

Jimmy Ellis / 1975

Jean-Michael Bayle / 1990

Doug Henry / 1995

James Stewart / 2005

 450SX Class: Wins by Brand in Dallas-Fort Worth

Brand / Win(s)

Honda / 13

Yamaha / 10

Kawasaki / 8

Can-am / 2

Suzuki / 1

450SX Class: Wins by a Rider

  Rider / Wins     

Chad Reed / 4

 Rick Johnson / 3   

450SX Class: Winners of Both Classes in Dallas-Fort Worth

Mike LaRocco

Jeremy McGrath

Doug Henry

Kevin Windham

James Stewart

Ryan Villopoto

Can Justin Barcia join them?

450SX Class: San Diego Recap

►James Stewart earned his 46th career 450SX Class win

►It was Stewart’s 92nd career AMA win

►Stewart’s victory was his first since Atlanta last year

►For the first time in the history of San Diego, Suzuki won back-to-back events; Davi Millsaps in ’13 and Stewart in ’14

►Stewart becomes the first rider in 450SX Class history to win at least one main event in 10 consecutive seasons; he was tied with Jeremy McGrath with nine consecutive seasons before his San Diego win

►Stewart also ties McGrath on Suzuki’s all-time 450SX Class win list with two

►Suzuki has now won a 450SX Class race in 20 seasons

►Ryan Villopoto earned his fourth podium and sixth top-five finish of the season; It was his 17th consecutive top-five finish

►In Villopoto’s 80 career 450SX Class starts, he has 67 top-five finishes

►Ken Roczen earned his fourth podium of the season

►Roczen is one of three racers to have four podiums on the season; the other two are Villopoto and Chad Reed.

►Between Roczen and Ryan Dungey, a KTM has been in the top five each race this season

►Dungey earned a fourth-place finish; In 72 career 450SX Class starts, he has 63 top-five finishes

►For the first time in his career, Weston Peick has earned back-to-back top-five finishes

►Eli Tomac earned his first top 10 of the season with a seventh-place finish

►With Justin Brayton finishing ninth and Andrew Short finishing 10th in San Diego, they, along with Roczen and Villopoto, are the only riders to be inside the top-10 each race this season

►Nick Wey now has 161 career 450SX Class starts; he has passed Jeff Ward for sixth on the all-time start list

►For only the eighth time in his 13 year career, Chad Reed finished outside of the top 10 with a 12th

►For the second time in 450SX Class history, there have been four different winners in six races. 2012 was the other season

250SX Class: Dallas-Fort Worth

►The first race was held on May 4, 1985, Bobby Moore won win on a Suzuki

►This will be the 29th time the gate will drop for race in this market

►Grant Langston gave KTM first-ever 250SX Class race win in Dallas in 2001

►Villopoto won his first 250SX Class race in Dallas in 2006

►Blake Baggett also won his first-career 250SX Class race in Dallas-Fort Worth in 2010

►Dean Wilson earned his sixth career 250SX Class win last year at Cowboys Stadium; it was the team’s first win of the season

►Last year Justin Hill finished fifth at his first-ever 250SX Class race

►The Eastern Regional 250SX Class Championship opens this weekend

►Blake Baggett , Martin Davalos and Blake Wharton are the favorites to win their first-ever championship

250SX Class: Wins by Brand in Dallas-Fort Worth

Brand / Win(s)

Kawasaki / 10      

Suzuki / 6

Honda / 6          

Yamaha / 4

KTM / 1

450SX Class Laps Led

Ryan Villopoto: 35

James Stewart: 31

Chad Reed: 23

Justin Brayton: 13

Ken Roczen: 12

Ryan Dungey: 6

250SX Class Laps Led

Cole Seely: 52

Justin Hill: 20        

Dean Wilson: 12          

Jason Anderson: 6

450SX Class Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award

Anaheim 1: Ryan Villopoto           

Phoenix: Matt Moss

Anaheim 2: Ryan Dungey           

Oakland: Vince Friese

Anaheim 3: James Stewart     

San Diego: Andrew Short  

250SX Class Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award

Anaheim 1: Jason Anderson

Phoenix: Cooper Webb

Anaheim 2: Cooper Webb

Oakland: Dean Wilson          

Anaheim 3: Cole Seely

San Diego: Dakota Tedder           

450SX Class Fastest Qualifying Time

Anaheim 1: Justin Barcia           

Phoenix: Ryan Villopoto

Anaheim 2: Justin Brayton               

Oakland: Ryan Villopoto

Anaheim 3: Ryan Villopoto

San Diego: James Stewart   

250SX Class Fastest Qualifying Time

Anaheim 1: Dean Wilson          

Phoenix: Jason Anderson

Anaheim 2: Jason Anderson

Oakland: Dean Wilson

Anaheim 3: Dean Wilson

San Diego: Jason Anderson          

MMI Top Tech Award

Anaheim 1: Kelly Lumgair

Phoenix: Rene Zapata

Anaheim 2: Lars Lindstrom

Oakland: Ollie Stone

Anaheim 3: Joel Ard

San Diego: Chris Loredo