RedBud 450  Moto 1 Report

RedBud 450 Moto 1 Report

July 7, 2012 3:20pm

With the headlines belonging to James Stewart and his return to racing, points leader Ryan Dungey continued to put his head down and brush away the hype, putting in another dominating performance en route to an over forty second victory in moto one at RedBud.

Stewart would fall in behind Dungey early, but was clearly a step behind the 2010 National Champion. The wheels would then fall off for Stewart as he tipped over, losing a couple of spots in the process. Never able to recover, Stewart would finish a disappointing sixth in the first moto.

With Dungey running away with the lead Jake Weimer, Justin Brayton, a returning Tyla Rattray and Broc Tickle were jockeying for positioning inside the top five. The Kawasaki duo of Rattray and Tickle tried pushing their way into the top three but Brayton and Weimer were able to hold strong and take home second and third, respectfully, behind Dungey.

Rattray, in his first race back since Hangtown, would finish fourth. Tickle would take home fifth.

Other Notes:

- At the ripe age of 41, Mike Brown was running inside the top ten for a majority of the moto before running out of gas late in the race.

- For the second straight race Star-Valli Yamaha’s Nico Izzi would suffer a big get-off. Izzi, who was running inside the top ten at the time of the crash, would not return. We will continue to update you on his status as soon as we hear more.

- Privateer Cole Thompson put together a spectacular race, finishing a career-high seventh.

- Bobby Kiniry is back from Canada, while the series takes a break, and finished just behind Canadian Cole Thompson in eighth.

- Mike Alessi was involved in a first turn crash but was able to charge back to finish just outside the top ten in eleventh.


450 Moto 1 Overall

Ryan Dungey
Jake Weimer
Justin Brayton
Tyla Rattray
Broc Tickle
James Stewart
Cole Thompson
Bobby Kiniry
Josh Grant
Michael Byrne
Mike Alessi
Andrew Short
Derek Anderson
Ben LaMay
Kyle Chisholm
Christian Craig
Nick Wey
Heath Harrison
Kevin Rookstool
Vince Friese
Jason Thomas
John Dowd
Preston Mull
Kyle Regal
Dalton Carlson
Drew Yenerich
Jake Loberg
Dakota Kessler
M. Stryker
Tucker Saye
M. Giese
Mike Brown
Fredrik Noren
Matt Lemoine
Nico Izzi
Les Smith
John Greco
Jimmy Albertson
Ryan Sipes
Sean Borkenhagen