Pastrana Nominated for SportsNation's "Awesomest Dude of the Year"

December 14, 2011 10:50am
SportsNation Asks, “Who is the Awesomest Dude of the Year?”Fans Can Vote on Facebook; First Round Ends Tomorrow

ESPN’s SportsNation is currently in the midst of its 2nd Annual “Awesomest Dude of the Year” poll, an online vote that allows fans to pick their favorite athlete/entertainer from the sports world based on the level of awesomeness they displayed in 2011. Voting is taking place on SportsNation’s Facebook page and ends tomorrow (Wednesday) for the first round of eight nominees.

The matchups are:
·         Denver Broncos’ Tim Tebow vs. Minnesota Vikings’ Jared Allen
·         LA Clippers’ Blake Griffen vs. Oklahoma City Thunder’s Kevin Durant
·         U.S. Women’s Soccer’s Hope Solo vs. extreme sports star Travis Pastrana
·         MMA/UFC fighter Jon “Bones” Jones vs. wrestler/actor The Rock

The four winners of round one will be announced on Wednesday’s SportsNation show and voting will continue until they are narrowed down to two, and then finally the one “Awesomest Dude of the Year.”

This time around, in a SportsNation-style twist, “Awesomest Dude” nominees are not all male. U.S. women’s soccer player Hope Solo is representing the ladies in the matchups.

SportsNation, hosted by Colin Cowherd and Michelle Beadle, is a live sports television show born from the Internet, fueled by fan interaction and focused on fun.  The one-hour weekday show airs at 5 p.m. ET on ESPN2.