Nominees Announced For The AFMXA Awards Presented By Fuel TV

Irvine, CA -  The American Freestyle Motocross Association ("AFMXA"), a governing collective of Freestyle Motocross riders and action sports industry leaders, today announced the nominees for the 2009 AFMXA Awards presented by FUEL TV, taking place at Pala Raceway and Casino in Pala, CA on November 7th.  Established to recognize top athletes and companies for their accomplishments, commitment to and influence on the sport, the AFMXA sent out award ballots to over 40 professional FMX riders, and a winner in each category will be determined by highest number of votes.  An all-access show will air on FUEL TV on December 28th at 8pm ET/5pm PT, and again at 11pm ET/8pm PT, in FUEL TV's "Meet & Brotatoes" programming block.  Show coverage will also be featured on FUEL TV's web site ( in HD quality, and on the Association's site ( immediately following the broadcast.

Hosted by Metal Mulisha team rider and X Games Gold medalist, Todd Potter, and FUEL TV's Pat Parnell from "The Daily Habit," the AFMXA Awards will bring some of the biggest names in action sports together in one room to celebrate freestyle motocross and its talent.  With a variety of categories, including Best Spread in a Magazine and Biggest Slam, this year's most dedicated rider will be recognized with the Lusk Legacy Rider of the Yearaward, in memory of fellow FMX gold medalist, Jeremy Lusk. 

The 2009 AFMXA Awards nominees are: 

1.       Best Part in a Video: Jeremy Lusk - On the Pipe 5; Jeremy "Twitch" Stenberg - Hood Rich; Mike Mason - On the Pipe 5

2.       Biggest Slam: Beau Bamberg; Cameron Sinclair; Takayuki Higoshino

3.       Best Spread In a Magazine: Blake Williams; Jeremy Lusk; Todd Potter

4.       New Blood: Jackson Strong;  Lance Coury; Levi Sherwood

5.       Mucho Cohones: Cameron Sinclair; Robbie Maddison; Travis Pastrana

6.       Unsung Hero: Dane Heron; Dr. Gus Gialamas; Lizz Leach

7.       Legends Award: Brian Deegan; Mike Metzger; Travis Pastrana

8.      Lusk Legacy Rider of the Year: Blake Williams; Jeremy Stenberg; Nate Adams

The 1st annual AFMXA Amateur Competition is scheduled to take place earlier the same day,and is shaping up to be filled with great young potential from around the world.  Riders from Japan, Mexico, Canada and across U.S. are registered to compete.  In order to qualify, riders must be at least 14 years of age and submit video entries to  The deadline for submissions was October 20th, and. the top 10 selections chosen for best execution, style and innovation will be invited to compete in the event.  The 1st, 2nd and 3rd place titles will be decided by a judging panel that includes Brian Deegan, Ronnie Faisst, Jeremy Stenberg, Mike Mason and Nate Adams, among others.

To check out clips and photos from the events and see what the AFMXA is all about, go to

2009 AFMXA Amateur Event and Awards Ceremony Presented by FUEL TV Details:

Amateur Competition                                           Awards Ceremony
November 7, 2009                                                        November 7, 2009
8:00am - 2:00pm                                                           6:00pm -- 7:30pm
Pala Raceway                                                                    Pala Casino
12799 Highway 76                                                         11154 Highway 76
Pala, CA 92059                                                                Pala CA 92059 


About the AFMXA
Founded in 2009, the AFMXA is a non-profit organization that represents the interests of America's Freestyle Motocross industry.  A collective of professional, recreational, and corporate members, the AFMXA was launched to assist in more formally organizing the sport and continue supporting its growth and exposure.  The Lusk Legacy Foundation, established to help improve overall safety in the sport, protect the livelihoods of riders and their families, and provide them with legal, medical and financial consultation and representation, has been named the official charitable organization for the AFMXA.  Further information about our mission, events, membership and partners can be found online at


FUEL TV is the action sports lifestyle network for skateboarding, snowboarding, surfing, BMX, freestyle motocross, and wakeboarding.  A unit of Fox Cable Networks, FUEL TV was launched July 1, 2003 and is seen in 30-million U.S. homes. To subscribe to FUEL TV, call 877-4-FUEL-TV. For program times and other information, visit