2009 AMA Hare Scrambles Utah Report

September 1, 2009 3:16pm | by:
  • Kyle Summers raced a Valli Motorsports Yamaha for the first time this season and rode it to his first major win this season.
  • JCR's Nick Brozovich had one of his best finishes of the season, taking third after coming off the line in last and fighting his way through the brutal, silt/dust of Utah.
  • JCR's Timmy Weigand never seemed to tire and after three hours took second just three seconds back from Summers. Timmy holds the AMA Western Hare Scrambles point lead 100/1 win with Summers just eight back with two rounds to go.
Monticello, Utah - Kyle Summers battled a brutally tough course, extreme heat, dust, as well as Tim Weigand, Nick Brozovich, Taylor Robert, and Brenden Ritzman for three hours to emerge victorious at round five of the AMA Western Hare Scrambles Series this Sunday.  Summers came to Utah just two weeks after recovering from injuries sustained in the WORCS Series. The Valli Motorsports rider was winded and dehydrated after his victory in the brutal conditions, but happy to get a win.

“This was a tough course and it just got harder as the race went on,” said Summers. “That was good for me because I’ve been training hard, but I think we’re all beat. I was worried about Timmy [Weigand] that last lap because he was pushing me so hard and I didn’t have much left in the tank. But I dug deep and rode the final lap all heart and got the win.”

The holeshot went to Kawasaki’s Taylor Robert who fought with Summers and KTM’s Brenden Ritzman for the lead for most of the first hour. But Robert, who is still recovering from nearly losing his clutch finger, eventually blistered up and could barely hang on. Ritzman had his own issues with air filters clogged by the heavy, silty dust and the loss of his water system. Summers got the best of the battle, putting in fast laps, quick pits and eventually getting into clean air out front for the win.

Meanwhile, JCR Racing’s Timmy Weigand was pounding out fast laps and continually moving up with teammate Nick Brozovich in tow. Weigand’s relentless charge took him into the lead pack after the first hour and had him on Summers’ rear fender for the final lap.

  • Brenden Ritzman hoped to move up in the points chase, but filter issues and a broken water system slowed the KTM rider dropping him to fifth place and third in the standings.
  • Taylor Robert had his clutch finger sewed back on and held the lead for almost two hours before blisters slowed his charge. He finished fourth.
  • Veteran hero Steve Hatch came to Utah to watch the riders he trains/coaches/mentors take on the WHS Series. Steve decided to ride himself
“I did everything I could to get past Summers to win this race,” said Weigand. “But the dust was blinding and every time I was close enough to pass we’d hit another silt bed and I wouldn’t be able to see. I actually had to stop once on the last lap to let the dust clear. Kyle rode a great race, but I wanted to beat him today.”

Weigand finished just three seconds behind Summers with Brozovich taking third after coming off the starting line in last place. “I messed up on the start,” said Brozovich. “My Honda started on the first kick and I was so surprised I forgot to put it into gear. By the time I did, everyone got the jump on me. So I had to push hard every lap and deal with the dust. It was a long way up to get to third, but I’m happy to get on the podium for JCR Racing.”

Fourth place fell to Robert whose hands were torn and bloody across both palms after three hours. Ritzman held on for fifth with Colton Udall in sixth, Gary Sutherlin in seventh and Ian Blythe in eighth. Nine place went to Eric Bailey with training Coach Steve Hatch riding “for fun” taking 10th.

Summers’ victory kept him in the title hunt with Weigand. Weigand leads the AMA WHS Championship with 100/1 win over Summers with 92/1 win, with Ritzman in third with 78/1 win, and Brozovich in fourth with 70 points with just two rounds remaining.
  1. Kyle Summers – Yam
  2. Timmy Weigand – Hon
  3. Nick Brozovich – Hon
  4. Taylor Robert – Kaw
  5. Brenden Ritzman – KTM
  6. Colton Udall – Hon
  7. Gary Sutherlin – HSQ
  8. Ian Blythe – KTM
  9. Eric Bailey – Kaw
  10. Steve Hatch - KTM