Howard Dominates CMRA Event at Texas World Speedway

Round three of the Central Motorcycle Roadracing Association's championship series at Texas World Speedway near College Station, Texas, saw Ty Howard dominate the action, claiming four wins in seven starts. Riding a variety of machinery, Howard was spectacular en route to his four victories, finishing with more than 10 seconds to spare over the competition in three of them and in the fourth he took the victory by a little over a seven-second margin. In all, Howard claimed wins in the South Central Race Center C Superstock, AVTEQ A Superbike, RaceworX A Superstock and Formula 1 Expert races, riding a ZX-6R in the 600 races and a GSX-R1000 in the 1000 races. The Weatherford, Texas resident also added a third-place finish in the B Superstock race while riding his Aprilia RSV1000, and a seventh in the Island Racing Services C Superbike race while on the Kawasaki, a race in which he started a lap down after missing the start. The C Superbike and B Superstock races were won by rookie Expert Trent Skreen on a YZ-R6.

Chris Romeo finished the day with three Expert victories, winning the Exel Transport Formula 2 race, the D Superstock race and the Lightweight Twins Expert race. Meanwhile, leaving town with two Expert wins each were Bill Erzal (Road & Track Suspension Classic Unlimited and D Superbike) and Conner Blevins (Road & Track Suspension Clubman & GMAN 125 GP).

Other Expert winners included Derek Wagnon (B Superbike), Van Blaylock (Heavyweight Twins), Brad Kelly (F40 Heavyweight), Eric Falt (F40 Lightweight), Ted Phillips (Unlimited Motard) and Brandon Warren (Super Motrad).

In the Novice divisions, Blake Cochran ended the day with three wins, while Michael Bradshaw and Tony Ta each had two.

In Saturday's six-hour endurance race, Team Mancuso Powersports (Paul Wilkinson, Craig Clark, Bryan West, Dustin Meador, Randall Kienast) rode a GSX-R1000 to a one-lap margin of victory over ZX-6R-mounted Lone Star Track Days (Gabe McClendon, Mark Niemi, Derek Thomas).

Arkansas-based Apex Racing (Dewayne Davis, Steve Nance, Tony Moore) finished third overall on a YZF-R6, while ST II (Kenny Smith, Chris Fields) won the C Superbike division with a fourth overall finish on an R6.

Hellcat Racing (Blaine Johnson, Kier Johnson, Christopher Corder, Les Banta) won the Formula 2 class on an SV-650 with a seventh overall finish.

With the win, Team Mancuso Powersports also claimed the win in the A Superbike division and moved into the lead in the overall series standings ahead of Lone Star Track days with five rounds remaining on the endurance schedule. Meanwhile, Lone Star Track Day's runner-up finish was good enough for the win in the C Superstock class.

The CMRA returns to action on May 15-17 at Hallett Motor Racing Circuit in College Hallett, Oklahoma, with a full slate of sprint racing, a 5-hour Big Bike Endurance race and a 2-hour Mini Endurance race.