St. Louis Supercross Results

April 20, 2008 6:13am

Windham Tightens Championship With Win at Monster Energy® Supercross in St. Louis; Canard Clinches Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Championship
ST. LOUIS (April 19, 2008) – Torco Honda’s Kevin Windham picked up his third main event win of the season and tightened the championship race in the Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, before a crowd of 48,698 at the Edward Jones Dome. Torco Honda’s Trey Canard clinched his first-ever AMA Supercross Lites class championship with a win.
Kawasaki’s Kelly Smith, of Ludington, Mich., won the $1,500 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award to begin the 20-lap AMA Supercross class main event. Team San Manuel Yamaha’s Chad Reed, of Tampa, Fla., took over the lead on the opening lap but would give way to the hard-charging Windham, who steadily pulled away for the win.
Windham, who entered tonight’s race trialing Reed by 16 points, cut the deficit to 13 points with two races remaining. Reed, who is riding with a cracked shoulder blade, turned in a valiant ride to earn second. Red Bull Honda’s Andrew Short, of Smithville, Texas, finished third.
“Tonight I just wanted to put myself into a good position,” said Windham. “(Chad) put himself in a good position to not lose too many points tonight. It’s all about me now and I feel good about the ride I put in tonight. I’m giving it all I can and that alone feels good.”
Added Reed, “(My shoulder’s) definitely a lot better than last weekend. I just couldn’t make it happen in the whoops. I didn’t want to lay (the bike) down, so I rode for second tonight. I want this title and I’m not about to let it go. I feel like I’ve let these guys into this points battle all season long by making mistakes.”
Canard, of Elk City, Okla., grabbed the $1,000 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award off the start of the AMA Supercross Lites main event as Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, of Poulsbo, Wash., settled into third place. Canard held a three-point lead heading into the series finale in St. Louis.
Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Branden Jesseman, of New Brighton, Pa., took over the lead on the opening lap, with Canard and Villopoto settling into second and third, respectively. The win and the championship would ultimately be decided at the end of lap four as both Villopoto and Canard got by Jesseman. With Villopoto out front, Canard slid to the inside and made contact with Villopoto, sending Villopoto into the finish line jump and off the track.
Canard kept his balance and took over sole possession of the lead and walked away with the first professional AMA Championship of his career.
“I really didn’t mean to take him out,” said Canard, a four-time winner on the season. “I think that’s racing and I would expect him to do the same to me if it came down to this last race. I really wanted this championship since I was like three years old. I just trained hard all week long and I can’t thank my team enough for getting this championship.”
Jesseman finished second while Torco Honda’s Josh Grant, of Riverside, Calif., was third.
The AMA Supercross class will be broadcast in HD on CBS on Sunday, April 20, at 12 p.m. EST and the AMA Supercross Lites class will air on SPEED in HD Saturday April 26, at 4:30 p.m. EST.
AMA Supercross Class Results, St. Louis
1. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda
2. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha
3. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda
4. Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha
5. Thomas Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Kawasaki
6. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda
7. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
8. Paul Carpenter, Ithaca, N.Y., Honda
9. Travis Preston, Hesperia, Calif., Kawasaki
10. Jason Thomas, Melrose, Fla., Honda
AMA Supercross Class Season Standings
1. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha, 318
2. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda, 305
3. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda, 244
4. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 241
5. Joshua Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha, 196
6. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 190
7. Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha, 173
8. David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 146
9. Paul Carpenter, Ithaca, N.Y., Honda, 136
10. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., KTM, 131
AMA Supercross Lites Class Results, St. Louis
1. Trey Canard, Elk City, Okla., Honda
2. Branden Jesseman, New Brighton, Pa., Kawasaki
3. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Honda, 71
4. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki
5. Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
6. Kyle Chisholm, Seminole, Fla., Kawasaki
7. Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ken., KTM, 70
8. Nico Izzi, Saint Clair., Mich., Suzuki
9. Matt Goerke, Lake Helen, Fla., KTM
10. Billy Payne, Simi Valley, Calif., Honda, 60
Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings
1. Trey Canard, Elk City, Okla., Honda, 147
2. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 137
3. Nico Izzi, Saint Clair., Mich., Suzuki, 99
4. Branden Jesseman, New Brighton, Pa., Kawasaki, 94
5. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Honda, 91
6. Tyler Bowers, Danville, Ken., Yamaha, 86
7. Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 84
8. Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ken., KTM, 84
9. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., KTM, 73
10. Billy Payne, Simi Valley, Calif., Honda, 71
Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings
1. Jason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha, 135
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 129
3. Austin Stroupe, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki, 113
4. Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 112
5. Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Kawasaki, 101
6. Dan Reardon, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 95
7. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 85
8. Robert Kiniry, LaFayette, N.Y., Kawasaki, 71
9. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Yamaha, 69
10. Billy Laninovich, Lake Elsinore, Calif., KTM 62
KTM Junior Supercross Challenge
1. Dante Oliveira, Hollister, Calif., KTM
2. Darius Comfort, Stevensville, Mich., KTM
3. Brett Gourley, Boonville, Ind., KTM
4. Carson Tuttle, Boerne, Texas, KTM
5. Jeremiah Seabolt, Warner Robins, Ga., KTM
6. Connor Davis, Little Rock, Ark., KTM
7. Jeremy Sanders, Collinsvile, Okla., KTM
8. Mason Cox, Canton, Ga., KTM
9. Jaxon Rush, Wichita, Kan., KTM
10. Jayce Ven De veer, Washington, Ill., KTM
11. Jaron Wood, Benton, Ky., KTM
12. Cody Davidson, Leavenworth, Kan., KTM
13. Joshua Clark, Canyon Country, Calif., KTM
14. Tallon Edwards, Girard, Kan., KTM
15. Samuel Hildebrand, Oregonia, Ohio, KTM
The next Monster Energy® Supercross race takes place at Edward Jones Dome in St. Louis on Saturday, April 19.