Kansas City Arenacross Results

Teddy Maier Takes First Place in Kansas City; Honda Teammate Nathan Skaggs Finishes Second

AURORA, Ill. (January 5, 2008) – The Toyota AMA Arenacross Series marched into the Kemper Arena in Kansas City, Mo., tonight for the first event of the New Year.  In the Toyota AMA Arenacross class, Honda’s Teddy Maier took advantage of the bobble by the Toyota Holeshot winner Nathan Skaggs to win the main event.


“I didn’t see Skaggs go down but when I came to the end of the whoops section I saw him trying to restart his bike.”  Maier said. “He just kind of gave it away, but I’ll take it.” 


After making the 9-hour drive down from racing in Grand Rapids, Mich., last night, Maier put on an impressive display for the TiLube, MotoXXX team on his Honda.  Even with his second place finish Skaggs was proud of his ride, saying “I would like to have won but I ran a good race.”


In the Toyota AMA Arenacross Lites South Main event Travis Bannister aboard his Race Day Performance Honda held off a late charge by Dennis Jonon on his Team GPS Racing Honda. 


“I tried to take it easy at the end to save some energy for the AX class main event.” Bannister said. Unfortunately, Travis suffered a mechanical failure that caused him to DNF in the main event of the AX class.  Kurtis Mccabe rounded out the top three with a solid ride on his TiLube, Moto XXX Honda.   

Arenacross Main Event Results

1.                   Teddy Maier, Honda

2.                   Nathan Skaggs, Honda

3.                   Kurtis Mccabe, Honda

4.                   Kerry Moore, Honda

5.                   Hunter Meyer, Honda

Arenacross Points (Pending Grand Rapids Arenacross Results)

1.   Chad Johnson (2)           148

2.   Kelly Smith                   137

3.   Brock Sellards (3)          136

4.   Josh Demuth (3)            127

5.   Jim Neese                     124

6    Kevin Johnson               116

7.   Teddy Maier                  112

8.   Danny Smith                 111

9.   Keith Johnson                102

10.  Nathan Skaggs                91


Arenacross Lites South Main Event Results


1.                   Travis Bannister, Honda

2.                   Dennis Jonon, Honda

3.                   Kurtis Mccabe, Honda

4.                   Colt Humphrey, Honda

5.                   Chad Cook, Kawasaki


Tickets for the entire Toyota AMA Arenacross Series are available online at www.Arenacross.com, www.Ticketmaster.com, www.Tickets.com. For more information on the Toyota AMA National Arenacross Series log on to www.Arenacross.com.