U.S. Open Notes

AURORA, Ill. (Oct. 10, 2007)


Past Winners U.S. Open Winners

’98: Damon Huffman, Kawasaki

’99 Jeff Emig, Yamaha

’00: Ricky Carmichael, Kawasaki

’01: Ricky Carmichael, Honda

’02: Mike LaRocco, Honda

’03: Chad Reed, Yamaha

’04: Chad Reed, Yamaha

’05: Ricky Carmichael, Suzuki

’06: James Stewart, Kawasaki


2007 Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open Stats

Carmichael holds the most wins at the U.S. Open with three. Chad Reed can tie the record this weekend.
Reed and Carmichael are the only riders to win the U.S. Open in back-to-back years.
Carmichael, Reed and Stewart are the only riders to win the U.S. Open in the same years they earned AMA Supercross championships.
Stewart, Emig, LaRocco, Reed and Carmichael are the only riders to have won the  World Supercross GP championship as well as the U.S. Open.
U.S. Open wins by brand: Kawasaki: 3; Yamaha: 3; Honda: 2, Suzuki: 1
Huffman and LaRocco are the only past U.S. Open winners that have not won an AMA Supercross class title.
In 2005, Carmichael became the only rider in history to win the grand slam by sweeping the U.S. Open, AMA Supercross, World Supercross GP, AMA Motocross and Motocross of Nations championship in the same season.
Seven-time AMA Supercross champion Jeremy McGrath’s best finish at the U.S. Open was second in 2001.
LaRocco, Emig and Carmichael are the only riders to win an AMA Motocross championship and a U.S. Open championship.
Huffman’s only major AMA Supercross class championship is the U.S. Open.
Stewart is the only rider to win the mini class and AMA Supercross class championships in U.S. Open history.
Emig, LaRocco and Huffman will race in the first-ever past champions rematch race on Friday and Saturday.

Other Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open News

The 2007 Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open will air on CBS Sports Saturday, October 20, from 1:30-3:00 p.m. EST. Ralph Sheheen and Jeff Emig will be is handling the play-by-play color respectively during the broadcast and Erin Bates will handle pit reporting.
The pre-race press conference will be webcast live Thursday, October 11, from Noon-2:00 at www.ussx.com, featuring Chad Reed and Tim Ferry.
Each night of racing will be webcast starting at 7:00 p.m. PST on www.ussx.com.
The Trifecta bonus program is offering $250,000 to the winner of all six events throughout the weekend. Toyota will sponsor the superpole portion of the race, posting $10,000 each night.
The track layout will be completely different from Friday to Saturday night: http://www.ussx.com/track07.asp.
The nation’s top amateurs will be competing this Sunday in the seventh-annual Amateur Arenacross World Finals.

2006 Results

AMA Supercross Class Overall Results

James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki, 50
Ricky Carmichael, Tallahassee, Fla., Suzuki , 44
Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda , 38
David Vuillemin, Menifee, Calif., Honda, 35
Tim Ferry, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki, 33
Michael Byrne, Menifee, Calif., Kawasaki, 33
Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 32
Chad Johnson, Rhinelander, Wis., Suzuki , 28
Cole Siebler, Emmett, Idaho, Suzuki, 22
Josh Demuth, Kingwood, Texas, Honda, 14
Heath Voss, Mico, Texas, Honda, 13
 Keith Johnson, Albuquerque, N.M., Yamaha, 12
 Kyle Partridge, Carrollton, Texas, Honda, 11
Brock Sellards, Sherrodsville, Ohio, Honda, 11
Danny Smith, Middleton, Idaho, Honda, 10

AMA Supercross Lites Class Overall Results

Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Honda , 50
Jake Weimer, Corona, Calif., Honda, 40
Chris Gosselaar, Victorville, Calif., Kawasaki, 35
Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 34
Steve Boniface, Lewisville, Texas, Honda, 31
Ben Townley, Tallahassee, Fla., Kawasaki, 29
Troy Adams, Brookville, Fla., Suzuki, 29
Kelly Smith, Ludington, Mich., Suzuki, 23
Thomas Hahn, Corona, Calif., Honda, 20
Sean Collier, Saugua, Calif., Yamaha, 16
Sean Hackley, Ovilla, Texas, Yamaha, 12
Matt Georke, Valencia, Calif., Yamaha, 12
 Mathhew Lemoine, Pilot Point, Texas, Yamaha, 11
Josh Hansen, Temecula, Calif., KTM, 10
 Marvin Musquin, La Roele, France, Kawasaki, 9
Eric Sorby, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda, 9


Tickets are now available for the 10th annual Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas October 12-14, 2007 at www.ussx.com, www.ticketmaster.com, by phone at 702-474-4000 or the MGM Grand Garden Arena box office. Regarded as one of off-road motorcycling’s premier races, the Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open is the final ‘major’ race of the motocross season. Tickets are available for as low as $20 through Ticketmaster.com. All tickets subject to 5% Las Vegas Entertainment tax.