Southwick Stats


Round Three of AMA Toyota Motocross Championship Presented by FMF
Motocross 338 – Southwick, Mass.
June 9-10, 2007

Statistical Report

AMA Motocross Stats:

-First race, June 6, 1976, with Pierre Karsmakers winning on a Honda.
-This will be the 29th time the gate will drop for an AMA Motocross national at the Motocross 338 facility.

Southwick wins by brand:

Honda – 14

Kawasaki – 5

Suzuki – 5

Yamaha – 4

-First time winner at Southwick:  Jeff Emig in 1995.
-Ricky Carmichael has never lost an AMA Motocross overall at Southwick, with seven consecutive wins (14 motos entered, 11 moto wins). He also has two overall victories in the 125 class, now known as AMA Motocross Lites.
-If Carmichael can win this season he will join Kent Howerton as the only other Suzuki rider to win three in a row at Southwick.
-Honda’s Jeff Stanton holds the record with four straight wins from 1989-1992.
-Last win by brand at Southwick:  Suzuki – 2006, Honda - 2004, Kawasaki - 2001, and Yamaha - 1998. Carmichael is the last winner for Suzuki, Honda and Kawasaki, with Jeff Emig winning for Honda in ’98.
-There have been six brand sweeps at Southwick [when a brand whens both classes):  Honda - 1987, ‘89, ’90 and ’96, Yamaha – 1978 and ‘98.
-Before Carmichael’s recent win streak, seven different riders won the overall at Southwick from 1993-99 (Mike Kiedrowski – 1993, Mike LaRocco – 1994, Jeff Emig – 1995, Jeremy McGrath – 1996, John Dowd – 1997, Doug Henry – 1998, and Ezra Lusk – 1999).

-Riders to win overall at Southwick in both classes during career: Carmichael. Kiedrowski, Henry and Dowd.
-Of the 124 rounds AMA Motocross Carmichael raced since 1997, he has won at least one moto 108 times.
-Carmichael’s 1-1 moto finish last week at Mt. Morris was the 58th overall sweep since 2000.
-Carmichael has won the first two rounds this season, marking the seventh time he has accomplished that feat in his career.

AMA Motocross Lites Stats:

-First race, May 7, 1978, with Broc Glover winning on a Yamaha.
-This will be the 23rd time the gate will drop for an AMA Motocross Lites national at the Motocross 338 facility.

Southwick wins by brand:

Honda – 9

Kawasaki – 5

Yamaha – 5

Suzuki – 4

-In 1999, Carmichael posted the worst moto finish of his career, 28th, at Southwick.
-First time winners at Southwick:  Craig Anderson – 2003, Danny Smith – 2002, Travis Pastrana – 2000, Dowd - 1998, and Keith Bowen – 1986.
-Pastrana was the last rider to win back to back here in 2000-01.
-Since 2001, six different riders have won at Southwick:  Smith – 2002, Anderson – 2003, James Stewart – 2004, Grant Langston – 2005, and Andrew Short – 2006.
-Last win by brand at Southwick:  Honda – 2006, Kawasaki – 2005, Yamaha – 2003, and Suzuki – 2002.

SCHEDULE: Saturday (June 9) - Pro practice, 1:00-3:25 pm., Pre-qualifiers 3:45 pm.; Sunday (June 10) - Practice, 9:00-10:30 am. Qualifying, 10:45 am. Opening Ceremonies, 12:30 pm. Final events start at 1:00 pm with two 30-minute, plus two lap motos for each class.

One Hundred VIP Guest packages are available for fans that includes a full-access pit pass (Saturday/Sunday), catered lunch on Sunday, tent and bleacher seating, live timing and scoring and a souvenir program.

TICKETS – Saturday: Includes Sunday admission Adult: $40.00. Sunday Only: Adult: $30.00; RAIN OR SHINE, Cash Only. NO personal checks or credit cards are accepted, Child Under 6: FREE - must be accompanied with adult.; Sunday Parking: Located at Recreation Center and School Grounds Area. $10.00 donation to Parents School and Youth Sport Activities.

Interview opportunities are available to the media by contacting AMA Toyota Motocross Championship Media Manager Tony Gardea via email or by phone at 949-365-5750.

Credential requests for each round of the 2007 AMA Toyota Motocross Championship, presented by FMF, must be submitted via email to three weeks prior to the race. Media members interested in interviews with the riders of the Toyota AMA Motocross Championship, presented by FMF, should contact Next Level Sports Management at 949-365-5750 or email

For more information on the AMA Toyota Motocross Championship, presented by FMF, log onto for live timing and scoring and for Racer X Illustrated’s comprehensive web coverage including audio and streaming video.