Champions Crowned at Amp’d Mobile SX Banquet

Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino Hosts Season-Ending Event
LAS VEGAS (May 7, 2007) – The 2006’-07 Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP/Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series champions were honored last night at the season-ending Amp’d Mobile Supercross Awards Banquet inside Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino.
Kawasaki’s James Stewart, of Haines City, Fla., earned the evening’s top awards as he accepted the Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP and Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series championships. AMA Supercross Lites champions Ryan Villopoto (Western Regional), of Poulsbo, Wash., and Ben Townley (Eastern Regional), of Tallahassee, Fla. accepted their first-ever AMA Supercross Lites championship trophies.
“This has been an amazing year for me,” said Stewart. “Everyone that has been behind me, especially my family, has helped me attain this goal. I am looking forward to an exciting 2008 supercross season. I hope to build off of this special season and have already started to set my goals for next year.”
Award Recipients
Team Manager of the Year
Chris Mcavoy
FIM Recognition
John Gallagher
KTM Junior Supercross Challenge Recognition
Selvaraj Naryana
Mechanic of the Year
Jeremy Albrecht
AMA Recognition
Rob Dingman
Transport Driver of the Year
Wilson Sawtelle
Comeback of the Year
Andrew Short
Golden Mic Award
Ryan Dungey
Women’s MX and SX Foundation Award
Team of the Year
Pro Circuit Kawasaki
Amp'd Mobile AMA Supercross Series Lites West Champion
Ryan Villopoto
Amp'd Mobile AMA Supercross Series Lites East Champion
Ben Townley
Dave Coombs Sr. Supercross Lites East/West Shootout
Ryan Dungey
USST Pro Privateer and CE Altman Top Privateer Award:
1. David Vuillemin
2. Paul Carpenter
3. Heath Voss
Amp'd Mobile World Supercross GP Champion
James Stewart
Amp'd Mobile AMA Supercross Series Champion
James Stewart
For more information about the Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP/Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series, please log on to For media requests, please contact Denny Hartwig at 630-566-6305 or e-mail at