Springfield Arenacross Results

Brad Modjewski receives a gift in AX Lites

AURORA, Ill., February 3, 2007 – With a capacity crowd on hand Danny Smith and his Cernic’s Tuff Honda took care of business at the Springfield, Ill. Toyota AMA Arenacross.  Smith has been struggling the past several rounds thus seeing his points lead dwindling to past Arenacross Champion Robbie Reynard.  Although Smith had to go to the semi finals to make the main, he pulled the hole shot and lead every lap.  There was high drama behind him as Reynard got off to a terrible start, running 15th and having to work his way through a very talented field of athletes.  With a just a few laps to go he passed Kevin Johnson and finished second overall.  The Johnson brothers, Kevin and Keith, were at it again racing each other the entire night.  Vincent Blair mounted on the Eternal Industries Suzuki was able pass the Johnson family feud to make his first podium of the year.

The Toyota AMA Arenacross Lites class was equally as exciting as Cory Green and Jimmy Neese battled every lap of the race.  In nearly every turn Green’s Honda was rubbing with the Carolina Express Suzuki.  In the final lap they came together lodging Green’s foot in Neese’s rear wheel.  The crash paved the way for Brad Modjewski, Kurtis McCabe and Nick Adams to make the podium. 

Toyota AMA Arenacross Main Results

1.                  Danny Smith, Hon

2.                  Robbie Reynard, Hon

3.                  Vincent Blair, Suz

4.                  Kevin Johnson, Yam

5.                  Keith Johnson, Yam


Toyota AMA Arenacross Lites Results

1.                  Brad Modjewski, Yam

2.                  Kurtis McCabe, Hon

3.                  Nick Adams, Hon

4.                  Shane Sewell, Kaw

5.                  Justin Kelly, Suz

Toyota AMA Arenacross Points

     1.    Danny Smith (3) 310

     2.    Robbie Reynard (6)        288

     3.    Keith Johnson (2)           268

     4.    Kevin Johnson (2)           263

     5.    Brock Sellards (4)          247

     6.    Chad Johnson (2)           237

     7.    Teddy Maier (1)              221      

     8.    Matt Barnes                  202      

     9.    Jim Neese (1)                198      

   10.     Justin Buckelew             195