Demuth is the New King of Dortmund

January 15, 2007 7:53am | by:

US boy Josh Demuth has dominated Germany´s No. 1 Supercross event.

But it wasn´t easy from the start. Demuth overcame mechanical gremlins on the opening night to strike back with consecutive wins on Saturday and Sunday. The multi-time Arenacross champ, who rode a KX450F for Kawasaki Elf Team Pfeil, celebrated his overall victory with a giant trophy, a huge smile and the keys to a brand new Toyota Corolla in hands. As Demuth was named "King of Dortmund", a sea of French riders followed.

Pierre-Alexandre Renet, his teammate Pascal Leuret, Florent Richier and 2006 Dortmund winner Julien Vanni rounded out the top five.

No single rider made the podium on all three days. Demuth finished 12-1-1, Renet 1-5-5, Leuret 9-3-2, Richier 3-7-3 and Vanni 2-10-4.

Gordon Crockard surprisingly was in the title hunt after the first two days, but the Irishman failed to make the main event on Sunday.

Meanwhile, French Supercross talent prevailed in the SX2 category. After several close motos, Jeremy Tarroux and Fabien Izoird left the arena tied on points. It was Tarroux who came out on top, though.

The 22-year old held off Izoird in the deciding moto to ultimately become "Prince of Dortmund".

Ricky Renner ended third.

With 30,000 spectators for the weekend, a brilliant show and a car for the winner, Dortmund has cemented its status as a major player in the Supercross universe. And next year - for the event´s 25th anniversary celebrations - it´s only going to get better.

Full results can be found at

Overall SX1

1. Josh Demuth, USA, Kawasaki 50 pts
2. Pierre-Alexandre Renet, FRA, Honda 47 3. Pascal Leuret, FRA, Honda 43 4. Florent Richier, FRA, Kawasaki 41 5. Julien Vanni, FRA, KTM 39 6. Gordon Crockard, IRL, Honda 29 7. Marco Dubé, CAN, KTM 26 8. Willi Browning, USA, Suzuki 23 9. Daniel Siegl, GER, Yamaha 19 10. Christophe Martin, FRA, KTM 18

Overall SX2

1. Jeremy Tarroux, FRA, Kawasaki 119
2. Fabien Izoird, FRA, Kawasaki 119
3. Ricky Renner, USA, Honda 90
4. Manuel Chittaro, GER, Kawasaki 72
5. Ashley Greedy, GBR, Honda 58