Team Fun Center Suzuki Dominates Night Two in Glendale, AZ

December 18, 2005 8:32am

Championship Points Lead Switches Hands Once Again

GLENDALE, AZ (December 17, 2005) – Advanstar – a leading provider of print, event and online media for the powersports, off-road and automotive aftermarket industries – closed out round six of the K&N presents BooKoo Arenacross Championship Series Brought to you by Toyota with Team Fun Center PPG TLD Suzuki proving to be too strong for the competition.

Shane Bess won the 250 Main.
Tony Scavo photo
Saturday night of round six opened with all eyes on the “Battle of the Joshes” but it would end with only one of them on top. Team Fun Center Suzuki exploded into Saturday night not leaving much room for anybody else, and the championship points lead would change hands once again.

Friday Nights 250 main event saw Shane Bess out front early on his team Fun Center PPG TLD Suzuki with Team Sano Systems PPG Yamaha Tommy Hofmaster in tow. Bess would capture his second victory of the year with a huge lead over second place finisher Hofmaster. Bess’ teammate Josh Woods claimed the third and final podium spot as he charged from deep in the pack to put an awesome block pass on Kevin Johnson of Team Faith Yamaha. Team Babbitt’s Enxus Kawasaki rider Josh Demuth finished in fifth.

Josh Woods' 450 Main victory gave him a four-point lead over rival Josh Demuth.
Tony Scavo photo
The 450 main would showcase Team Fun Center Suzuki once again as teammates Josh Woods and Shane Bess finished one-two on the podium. Woods exploded out early despite starting in the second row while Bess looked to keep him in eye site. Team Babbitt’s Enxus Kawasaki rider Damien Plotts finished in third.

Before Saturday night’s main events, Motorcycle Mechanic Institute presented it’s MMI Top Tech Award and a $150 check to Brock Sellards of Team Cernics Honda for doing his own mechanic work and racing. Sellards finished third in the 450 main on Friday night and finished eighth in the 450 Saturday night main event.

The BooKoo Arenacross Championship Series takes a two-week break for the holidays with the closest racing in Arenacross history. Josh Woods holds a four-point lead over “The Sheriff “ Josh Demuth in the championship points lead. Tommy Hofmaster finds himself 61 points behind in third place.

Action kick starts once again in Reading, PA January 5-7, 2006 at the Sovereign Center. Advance discount tickets are available through Ticketmaster, or by phone at 215-336-2000, and at the Sovereign Center or Sovereign Center Performance Arts Center buildings.

Saturday 250 Main:
1. #102 Shane Bess SUZ
2. #110 Tommy Hofmaster YAM
3. #56 Josh Woods SUZ
4. #4 Kevin Johnson YAM
5. #8 Josh Demuth KAW
6. #886 Jimmy Nelson HON
7. #515 Riley Kurosky HON
8. #14 Jeff Willoh HON
9. #304 Brad Ripple KAW
10. #79 Michael Blose HON
11. #144 Kyle Partridge HON
12. #567 Kurt McCabe HON
13. #13 Colt Humphrey YAM
14. #295 Billy Swapp KAW
15. #99 Damien Plotts KAW
16. #988 Ty Morrow HON

Saturday 450 Main:
1. #56 Josh Woods SUZ
2. #102 Shane Bess SUZ
3. #99 Damien Plotts KAW
4. #110 Tommy Hofmaster YAM
5. #62 Travis Bannister HON
6. #2 Jeff Northrup HON
7. #13 Colt Humphrey YAM
8. #18 Brock Sellards HON
9. #8 Josh Demuth KAW
10. #236 Dennis Jonon KAW
11. #4 Kevin Johnson YAM
12. #515 Riley Kurosky HON
13. #125 Daniel Blair HON
14. #14 Jeff Willoh HON
15. #204 Bobby Fitch SUZ
16. #567 Kurt McCabe HON

Championship Points Race:
1. #56 Josh Woods SUZ 392pts
2. #8 Josh Demuth KAW 388
3. #110 Tommy Hofmaster YAM 331
4. #102 Shane Bess SUZ 313
5. #99 Damien Plotts KAW 263
6. #304 Brad Ripple KAW 242
7. #221 Tiger Lacey HON 240
8. #515 Riley Kurosky HON 193
9. #13 Colt Humphrey YAM 183
10. #14 Jeff Willoh HON 160