Decotis, Moss Win Australian Supercross Opener

October 10, 2015 3:35pm | by:
Decotis, Moss Win Australian Supercross Opener

American Jimmy Decotis is off to a fast start in the Australian Supercross Championship. Last night at Round1 at Bathurst Showgrounds, Decotis won the SX2 main event over Luke Clout and Luke Arbon.

"Yeah, that bad start in the Final really made it tough," Decotis explained after the race. "But I just settled down and rode strong and worked my way through and then when I caught up to Luke, we were both riding really good and we had a good race until I could finally get the edge. The track tonight was tough after the rain this afternoon and the track crew did a great job. I'm really happy to win first time out in Australia, it feels great. I can't wait to head to Queensland and the next round next weekend!"

In SX1, Matt Moss started his title defense on the right foot, winning the opening round over Dan Reardon and American Gavin Faith.

"I knew what I had to do tonight, and that's exactly how it went down, so I am rapt to get the win," said Moss. "I've been working so hard coming into this event and all that work is paying off. I felt great at the end of the 20 laps.

"And it feels great to get another win for the Motul Suzuki team again. Jay and Jess and all the team have put such a huge effort in and it feels great to kick off the Australian Championship in this way for them."

Round two of the 2015 Australian Supercross Championship heads to Jimboomba X Stadium in south-east Queensland next Saturday, October 17.

SX1 Results

  1. Matt Moss
  2. Dan Reardon
  3. Gavin Faith
  4. Kirk Gibbs
  5. Kade Mosig
  6. Sam Martin
  7. Luke Styke
  8. Lawson Bopping
  9. Daniel McCoy
  10. Adam Monea
  11. Chris Camilleri
  12. Brodie Hartin
  13. Kale Makeham
  14. Joel Newton
  15. Danny Ham
  16. Anthony Rodriguez
  17. Daniel McEntee
  18. Dylan Long

SX2 Results

  1. Jimmy Decotis
  2. Luke Clout
  3. Luke Arbon
  4. Jackson Richardson
  5. Geran Stapleton
  6. Lewis Woods
  7. Wade Hunter
  8. Kyle Webster
  9. Caleb Ward
  10. Dylan Wills
  11. Nathan Crawford
  12. Jessie Madden
  13. Taylor Potter
  14. Joel Wightman
  15. Jed Beaton
  16. Thomas Ravenhorst
  17. Time Vare
  18. Jack Simpson
  19. Jamie Harvey
  20. Boyd Hocking
  21. Jake Williams