Dave McCoy to Receive the 2015 Edison Dye Award

September 24, 2015 4:05pm | by:

For his monumental contributions to the early years of motocross, Dave McCoy is being honored as the 2015 recipient of the Edison Dye Lifetime Motocross Achievement Award! As its newest inductee, Dave will join the ranks of Roger DeCoster, Rick Johnson, Bruce Brown, and others in recognition for his contribution as a pioneer in the sport of motocross. Dave also has the distinction of being the oldest inductee, as he celebrated his 100th birthday on August 31—amazing!

Back in 1968, Don Rake and some friends decided to put on a motocross in Mammoth Lakes, California. They built a world-class track eight thousand feet up in the Sierra Nevada Mountain range. Dave McCoy came along and offered the backing of his Mammoth Mountain Ski Area and the rest is history.

Every summer, racers have flocked to Mammoth Mountain for this classic event. It is the oldest continuous running motocross in the USA. The track has changed a little over the years, but the fun hasn't. Year after year, Dave McCoy was instrumental in the continuing development of the "destination" races at the annual Mammoth MX.

Many of the top racers in the world have honed their skills at this event. There have been some epic battles over the years, and many racers have made a name for themselves on this track. Little did anyone of present day know that Dave created a fitness training center for dirt-bikers at his ranch in Bishop, California. He also built a moto track right in his yard, so that everyone could ride there.

Riders like Ricky Carmichael, Jeremy McGrath, Rick Johnson, Johnny O'Mara, Broc Glover, Donny Schmit, Steve Lamson, Gary Jones, Kevin Windham, David Bailey, Jeff Ward, Ron Lechien, Bob Hannah, James Stewart, Mike Bell, Donnie Hansen, and many more took the starting gate at the base of the start hill. The Mammoth MX event paralleled the early years of motocross in California. Dave McCoy was at the root of these events!