Russell Sweeps Kenda Full Gas Sprint Enduro

May 4, 2015 10:35am | by:

In his first race on the all-new 2016 KTM 250 XC-F, Factory FMF/KTM’s Kailub Russell took five of eight special test wins on day one, and four of six test wins on day two to win the overall of the second round of the Kenda Full Gas Sprint Enduro Series in Newburg, West Virginia.

A late addition to the series, the event also served as the East Coast AMA ISDE Qualifier for riders wanting to qualify for one of Team USA’s Club, Senior, and Women’s teams. Thirty riders from as far as Oregon raced Letter of Intent, with Factory Beta’s Cory Buttrick taking the E2 class and overall LOI wins on the weekend. 

The Newburg, WV, race featured a rolling two-and-a-half-mile grass track cross test and a four-mile woods enduro loop. On the first day of the event, racers competed on each test four times. Kailub Russell came out swinging in test one—the cross test—taking the win by four seconds over his teammate Russell Bobbitt. KR4/FAR/Husqvarna’s Thad DuVall was the second rider to take off on the cross test, but a mechanical issue that required a mid-test repair saw him finish 137th in that test, 2:44 slower than Russell, putting him in a deep hole to try and climb out of the rest of the weekend. 

DuVall, who was recently selected to represent the USA on its ISDE Trophy Team this year in Slovakia, rebounded in the second test of the day—the enduro test—taking the win by three seconds over Russell. Thad would go on to win two more tests on the day, the only other rider besides Russell to win a test, and claw his way back into the overall picture, finishing day one in sixth place overall. 

FMF/KTM’s Russell Bobbitt started the day out with his fastest cross test time, and second-fastest of the session behind Russell. Bobbitt would continue to post fast times throughout the day to secure second-place after the first day of racing. 

The battle behind Bobbitt was heated, with Factory Beta’s Cory Buttrick and Ride MPS/Honda’s Layne Michael ending the day with less than two-tenths of a second separating them for third and fourth overall.

Fifth place on day one went to Benjamin Kelley, who was riding LOI in the E2 class.

The second day of racing would see the riders tackle the same special tests as day one, but in reverse direction. Kailub Russell started day two the same as day one—with a win on the cross test, the first of four test wins for him on the day. 

Thad DuVall clawed his way into a fifth-place-overall position after posting some seriously fast times throughout the day, taking two test wins from Russell in the process, making him the second-fastest rider on day two, fifteen seconds behind the FMF/KTM rider. 

Layne Michael moved ahead of Cory Buttrick on day two, finishing third for the day and ultimately third overall for the weekend. 

Russell Bobbitt rode consistent on day two and was able to hold off the hard-charging Michael to secure second-place-overall for the weekend by nineteen seconds.

Cory Buttrick was fifth on day two, which dropped him to fourth overall, but he did take the E2 LOI class win and the LOI overall for the weekend. 

The Kenda Full Gas Sprint Enduro Series will resume with its third round on July 18-19 in Indiana. For more information visit 

Russell Bobbitt (2nd), Kailub Russell (1st), Layne Michael (3rd).
Russell Bobbitt (2nd), Kailub Russell (1st), Layne Michael (3rd). Photo: Andrew Fredrickson /

Overall Results

  1. Kailub Russell – 1:35:14.927
  2. Russell Bobbitt – 1:37:17.483
  3. Layne Michael – 1:37:36.835
  4. Cory Buttrick – 1:38:12.050
  5. Thad DuVall – 1:38:30.380
  6. Benjamin Kelley – 1:39:31.362
  7. Sam Evans – 1:41:14.441
  8. Tegan Temple – 1:41:44.731
  9. Anthony Stone – 1:42:05.579
  10. Triston Landrum – 1:42:20.117 

LOI Results 

E1 Class

  1. Josh Toth – 1:43:06.705
  2. Michael Pillar – 1:47:52.345
  3. Geoffrey Sanders – 1:51:54.918 

E2 Class

  1. Cory Buttrick – 1:38:12.050
  2. Benjamin Kelley – 1:39:31.362
  3. Mickey Silger – 1:53:56.210

E3 Class

  1. John Kelley – 1:43:31.497
  2. Kyle McDonal – 1:43:j39.362
  3. Nate Ferderer – 1:44:39.140 

Senior Class

  1. Brian Storrie – 1:50:30.938
  2. Andy Lagzdins – 1:58:22.865
  3. Pat Flynn – 1:58:58.139


  1. Jamie Wells – 2:02:22.340
  2. Cassidy Brown – 2:03:43.366

Full event results can be found online here.