Seely, Plessinger Named 2015 Supercross Rookies of the Year

May 2, 2015 2:55pm | by:
Seely, Plessinger Named 2015 Supercross Rookies of the Year

The American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) has named Honda HRC’s Cole Seely and Yamalube/Star Racing Yamaha’s Aaron Plessinger 2015 AMA Supercross Rookies of the Year.

After a slow start to the season, Seely saw things click at Anaheim III, capturing his first career podium. Over the last six rounds, Seely has four podiums, which included his first career win in Houston. He has already locked down third in 450SX points with one round remaining.

Seely won the award over fellow rookies Blake Baggett, Jason Anderson and Dean Wilson.

Plessinger, a former amateur standout in motocross and GNCC, began the season with consecutive top five finishes. He garnered his first, and only, podium of the season at Anaheim III. He had four top fives in eight rounds in the 250SX West Region.

Plessinger edged out GEICO Honda rookie RJ Hampshire for the award by just three points, 103 to 100.

This is the second consecutive Rookie of the Year award Star Racing has received, as Cooper Webb took home the award in 2014.

Before the, “so and so should have won it” chants start, the AMA Rookie of the Year honors are awarded to the eligible rookie rider with the most points accumulated in each class. 

"Cole and Aaron both had exceptional rookie seasons, demonstrating that they have what it takes to compete at the highest levels," said AMA Supercross Director Kevin Crowther. "We congratulate them for their distinguishing performances in 2015. Their continued dedication and hard work will certainly take them far in the sport of AMA Supercross."