Reed, Moss, Ferris Named to Team Australia

August 26, 2014 11:20am | by: is reporting that Motorcycling Australia (MA) has announced the 2014 Australian team for the Motocross of Nations in Kegums, Latvia. In MX1, Chad Reed returns to the team after missing last year’s event due to injury. Dean Ferris, who spent time in America this season with Red Bull KTM before going back to GPs with Red Bull Ice One Husqvarna Racing, will ride MX2. Remember, it was at the Motocross of Nations last year that Ferris had a breakout performance that landed him his spot with Red Bull KTM. Defending MX Nationals Champion, and current MX1 points leader, Matt Moss will ride the Open Class.

“The Australian team for the MXoN in Latvia of Chad Reed, Dean Ferris and Matt Moss, I feel, is a very strong team,” said team manager Gary Benn. “All three riders have a lot of international experience. Both Chad and Matt have stood on the podium at the MXoN before and Dean’s great ride last year should put Australia in a strong position this year in Latvia.”

Assisting the team will be Michael Byrne. “I feel really honored to be asked to help MA and team Australia for MXON in Latvia this year.” Byrne said. “I believe we have a solid team with a good shot at being on the podium again, I’m looking forward to working with and helping Chad, Dean and Matt at the race to get Australia a great result.”

A glaring omission from the team is Brett Metcalfe. is reporting that Metcalfe made a last minute decision to withdraw his name from consideration due to undisclosed reasons. Metcalfe finished fourth in the final 450 Class standings in the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship in 2014.

For more information, visit