MXoN Update: Roczen out; Japan, Portugal, NZ Announce

August 21, 2014 3:50pm | by:

The 2014 Motocross of Nations kicks off in Kegums, Latvia, in late September and teams are beginning to fill in. Earlier this month the United States (Ryan Dungey, Jeremy Martin, and Eli Tomac) announced their squad, as did Great Britain (Shaun Simpson, Tommy Searle, and Dean Wilson), Belgium (Jeremy Van Horebeek, Julien Liber, and Kevin Strijbos), France (Gautier Paulin, Dylan Ferrandis, and Steven Frossard) and Italy (David Phillippaerts, Antonio Cairoli, and Davide Guarneri). As of this week, we now know Ken Roczen will not be joining Germany in Latvia. Amid a bike change this off-season, Roczen decided not to race the event this season. In his place, Germany will send Max Nagl (MX1), Marcus Schiffer (MX2), and Dennis Ullrich (Open), reports Moto Magazine. 

In addition, Portugal announced that Rui Goncalves (MX1), Paulo Alberto (MX2), and Hugo Basaula (Open) would make the trip to Latvia. Japanese team manager Naoki Serizawa announced this week that Japan team would consist of Akira Narita, Takashi Katsuya, and Yoshitaka Atsuta. New Zealand has also announced their team. They will send Hamish Dobbyn (MX1), Hamish Harwood (MX2) and Scott Columb (Open).