Race Report: New Jersey SX

Race Report New Jersey SX

April 27, 2014 1:50am

Just minutes from one of the most galvanizing cities in the world, Ryan Villopoto made history. Rain threatened to damper a showcase night for the series, as it returned to the Northeast for the first time since 1991. But over 60,000 strong braved the elements to witness Villopoto wrap up his fourth consecutive title and join Jeremy McGrath as the only riders in history to win four straight championships.

With Martin Davalos sidelined due to an ankle injury, GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle needed just eight point to essentially wrap up his first career championship. He got eight and a lot more as he cruised to the win. Jeremy Martin and Vince Friese would round out the 250SX podium.  

Photo: Cudby
Photo: Cudby
Photo: Cudby
Photo: Cudby
Photo: Cudby
Photo: Cudby
Photo: Cudby
Not a bad night to be Josh Hill.
Not a bad night to be Josh Hill. Photo: Cudby
Photo: Cudby
Not a bad night to be these guys, either. 
Not a bad night to be these guys, either.  Photo: Cudby
Photo: photographer
Photo: Cudby
Photo: Cudby
Photo: Cudby
Photo: Cudby
Bogle celebrates in style!
Bogle celebrates in style! Photo: Cudby

450SX Class Results

1. R. Villopoto
2. E. Tomac
3. J. Hill
4. J. Barcia
5. K. Roczen
6. R. Dungey
7. M. Alessi
8. A. Short
9. T. Canard
10. W. Peick
11. J. Weimer
12. P. Nicoletti
13. N. Wey
14. R. Stewart
15. C. Blose
16. J. Grant
17. B. Lamay
18. T. Archer
19. J. Albertson
20. C. Gilmore
21. T. Tapia
22. J. Stewart


450SX Class Season Standings

1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 343 
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 282
3. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki, 271 
4. Ken Roczen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 265
5. Justin Barcia, Pinetta, Fla., Honda, 232 
6. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM, 207
7. Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C., Yamaha, 196
8. Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Suzuki, 144
9. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 126
10. Wil Hahn, Menifee, Calif., Honda, 122

250SX Class Results

1. J. Bogle
2. J. Martin
3. V. Friese
4. M. Bisceglia
5. M. Lemoine
6. K. Cunningham
7. A. Martin
8. M. Oldenburg
9. J. Decotis
10. J. Richardson
11. G. Audette
12. J. Starling
13. A. Catanzaro
14. J. Baumert
15. L. Kilbarger
16. L. Vonlinger
17. Z. Williams
18. C. Clason
19. T. Potter
20. K. Bitterman
21. L. Powell
22. Aa. Gulley

Eastern Regional 250SX Class Season Standings

1. Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda, 166

2. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Kawasaki, 149

3. Adam Cianciarulo, Port Orange, Fla., Kawasaki, 120

4. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., 120

5. Vince Friese, Cape Girardeau, Mo., Honda, 120

6. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Honda, 109

7. Matthew Lemoine, Pilot Point, Texas, Kawasaki, 90

8. James Decotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda, 90

9. Cole Thompson, Brigden, Ontario, KTM, 89

10. Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 86