East Rutherford Notes Package

April 23, 2014 11:05am | by:

Monster Energy Supercross Notes Package
MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford

450SX Class Stats: East Rutherford
►This will be the sixth time that the gate will drop in East Rutherford
►MetLife Stadium hosted Super Bowl 48, and will host its first-ever Monster Energy Supercross race
►Rick Johnson won the first-ever race in East Rutherford in 1987
►Johnson went on to finish second in the championship
►In 1988 Johnson won the Main Event on a Honda
►Johnson went on to win the championship in 1988 after the Main Event win
►Joining Johnson on the podium in '88 was George Holland and Jeff Leisk; it was Honda's first podium sweep of the 1988 season and their ninth in history
►Johnny O’Mara finished fourth on a Suzuki in '88; it was his only top five finish of the season
►The second race in East Rutherford was held on May 6, 1989, and Jeff Stanton won the Main Event on a Honda
►Stanton went on to win the championship in 1989
►In 1989, Stanton was joined by Mickey Dymond on a Honda and O’Mara on a Suzuki
►The third race was held on May 19, 1990, and Jean-Michael Bayle won on a Honda
►Joining Bayle on the podium ’90 was Jeff Ward and Damon Bradshaw
►Stanton went on to win the championship in 1990
►The fourth race was held on May 18, 1991, and Stanton won on a Honda
►Joining Stanton on the podium was Bradshaw and Mike LaRocco in '91
►Bayle went on to win the championship in ‘91
►Honda is 4-0 in New Jersey
►In two of the four races in East Rutherford, the winner went on to win the championship
►In 10 of the last 16 Super Bowl games played at the same venue that hosted Monster Energy Supercross races, the NFC has won 10 games compared to the AFL's six (Most recently the Seattle Seahawks in 2014)
►When supercross races were held in the same venue as the Super Bowl in the same year, Jeremy McGrath holds the record at four; Bob Hannah and Chad Reed have won two apiece
►Honda and Yamaha have each won six races at the venue that played host to supercross and the Super Bowl; Kawasaki has two wins and Bul-Taco has one win

450SX Class: Wins by Brand in East Rutherford
Brand Wins(s)
Honda 5

450SX Class: Seattle Recap
►Andrew Short earned an eighth place finish. He has been inside the top 10 in 15 of 16 races. In his previous 36 starts, he only finished outside of the top 10 three times
►Short is also the current consecutive starts leader at 36 straight Main Events; Ryan Dungey is one race back at 35
►Ken Roczen earned a seventh- place finish; it was his 13th top-10 finish of the season
►Trey Canard earned a sixth-place finish; he has been in the top six in each of his first three races back from injury
►Justin Barcia earned his fifth consecutive top five and ninth top five of the season
►Eli Tomac earned his third top-five finish of the season with a fourth
►Dungey earned his ninth podium of the season with a third place finish
►James Stewart earned his eighth podium of the season and third runner-up finish
►The win was Ryan Villopoto’s 70th career AMA victory
►Villopoto became the first rider in 450SX Class history to have five consecutive seasons with at least five victories

250SX Class: East Rutherford Stats
►In 1988, LaRocco won the Main Event on a Yamaha; it was the second win of his career
►1989 Bradshaw won the Main Event on a Yamaha
►Bradshaw went on to win the championship in 1989
►In 1990 Denny Stephenson won the main Event on a Suzuki
►Stephenson went on to win the championship in 1990
►1991 Brian Swink won the Main Event on a Honda; it was his last win on a Honda
►Swink went on to win the championship in 1991
►In three of the four races in East Rutherford, the winner went on to win the championship three times

250SX Class: Wins by Brand in East Rutherford
Brand Win(s)
Yamaha 2
Suzuki 2
Honda 1

250SX Class: St. Louis Recap
►Martin Davalos scored the second 250SX Class win of his career
►Justin Bogle finished in second place, earning his third consecutive podium finish; in seven races, he has five podium finishes
►Blake Baggett earned his fourth podium of the season with a third place
►Kyle Cunningham tied his season’s best finish with a fourth
►AJ Catanzaro earned his first top-five finish of the season with a fifth
►Gannon Audette earned his first top-10 since the Las Vegas races in 2011

Venue Rider Brand Winner Year
Houston Jim Pomeroy Bul-Taco AFC 1974
New Orleans Bob Hannah Yamaha NFC 1978
Pontiac Bob Hannah Honda NFC 1982
Pasadena Broc Glover Yamaha NFC 1983
Miami Rick Johnson Honda NFC 1989
Pasadena Jeremy McGrath Honda NFC 1993
Atlanta Jeremy McGrath Honda NFC 1994
San Diego Jeremy McGrath Yamaha AFC 1998
Atlanta Jeremy McGrath Yamaha NFC 2000
New Orleans Ricky Carmichael Honda AFC 2002
San Diego Chad Reed Yamaha NFC 2003
Houston Chad Reed Yamaha AFC 2004
Detroit James Stewart Kawasaki AFC 2006
Dallas Trey Canard Honda NFC 2011
Indianapolis Ryan Villopoto Kawasaki NFC 2012
New Jersey ? ? NFC 2014

450SX Class Laps Led
Ryan Villopoto: 114
James Stewart: 84
Ryan Dungey: 24
Chad Reed: 23
Ken Roczen: 21
Justin Brayton: 13
Justin Barcia: 11
Mike Alessi: 9
Cole Seely: 1

250SX Class Laps Led
Cole Seely: 67
Martin Davalos: 42
Adam Cianciarulo: 34
Jason Anderson: 21
Justin Hill: 20
Justin Bogle: 15
Blake Baggett: 14
Dean Wilson: 12

450SX Class Nuclear Cowboyz® Holeshot Award
Anaheim Race 1: Ryan Villopoto
Phoenix: Matt Moss
Anaheim Race 2: Ryan Dungey
Oakland: Vince Friese
Anaheim Race 3: James Stewart
San Diego: Andrew Short
Arlington: Ryan Dungey
Atlanta: Mike Alessi
Indianapolis: Mike Alessi
Daytona: Ryan Villopoto
Detroit: Cole Seely
Toronto: Ken Roczen
St. Louis: Mike Alessi
Houston: Ryan Villopoto
Seattle: Ken Roczen

250SX Class Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award
Anaheim Race 1: Jason Anderson
Phoenix: Cooper Webb
Anaheim Race 2: Cooper Webb
Oakland: Dean Wilson
Anaheim Race 3: Cole Seely
San Diego: Dakota Tedder
Arlington: Adam Cianciarulo
Atlanta: Adam Cianciarulo
Indianapolis: Vince Friese
Daytona: Martin Davalos
Detroit: Martin Davalos
Toronto: Justin Bogle
St. Louis: Martin Davalos
Houston: Jessy Nelson
Seattle: Dean Wilson

MMI Top Tech Award
Anaheim Race 1: Kelly Lumgair
Phoenix: Rene Zapata
Anaheim Race 2: Lars Lindstrom
Oakland: Ollie Stone
Anaheim Race 3: Joel Ard
San Diego: Chris Loredo
Arlington: Brett Mountain
Atlanta: Tony Berluti
Indianapolis: Gregg Albertson
Daytona: N/A
Detroit: Dave Feeney
Toronto: Martin Sperry
St. Louis: Grant Hutcheson
Houston: Taylor Knight
Seattle: Rich Simmons