Detroit Notes Package

March 12, 2014 3:40pm | by:

450SX Class Stats: Detroit

►This will be the fourth time the gate will drop for a 450SX Class race in Detroit

►From 1976-2005 the Pontiac Silverdome played host to the race

►The three previous races in Detroit were from ’06-’08

►Davi Millsaps earned his second career 450SX Class victory in Detroit in 2008

►James Stewart won in ’06 and ‘07, can he claim his third Detroit win this weekend?

►Ryan Villopoto, Ryan Dungey, and Josh Grant have all won Detroit in the 250SX Class, can one of these riders become the first to win Detroit in both classes?

►Stewart is the only rider to win at Ford Field in the same year he won the championship

►15 different riders won at the Silverdome the same year they won their title

►Jeff Stanton, who is a Michigan native, won three championships but never won in Detroit

450SX Class: Wins by Brand at Ford Field







450SX Class: Daytona Recap

► Villopoto earned his 37th 450SX Class victory in Daytona. The victory was his fourth win in Daytona, putting him one win behind Ricky Carmichael for most wins in Daytona

►For the fourth time in the past five seasons, Villopoto became the first three time winner in a season; it was his 10 consecutive top-five finish

►Villopoto gave Kawasaki their 130th 450SX Class win

►Ken Roczen earned his sixth podium of the season with a second place finish; he has two wins, two runner-ups, and two third place finishes

►Dungey also earned his sixth podium of the season; it was his fourth podium in five seasons in Daytona

►Dungey now has 53 career 450SX Class podium finishes; he passed Rick Johnson for ninth on the all-time 450SX Class podium list

►For the third time this season, KTM had two bikes on the podium. No other brand has accomplished this feat in 2014

►A week after earning a career-best fifth-place finish, Broc Tickle finished in fourth place

►Andrew Short earned his first top five of the season with a fifth place. He is one of three riders to finish in the top 10 every race this season. He is joined by Villopoto and Justin Brayton in this category

►Dean Wilson earned his second 450SX Class top-10 finish in as many starts

250SX Class: Detroit Stats

►This will be the fourth time the gate will drop for a 250SX Class race in Detroit

►Ronnie Tichenor won the first-ever race at the Silverdome on April 12, 1986

►Tichenor won again the following year before going on to win the title

►The winner at Ford Field has not gone on to win the championship. Adam Cianciarulo, Blake Baggett or Martin Davalos could change that with a win this year

►12 times the winner at the Silverdome went on to win the championship

►Brian Swink, Eddie Warren and Todd DeHoop are the only Michigan natives to win championships

►Points leader Cianciarulo makes his Ford Field debut

250SX Class: Wins by Brand in Detroit









250SX Class: Daytona Recap

►Blake Baggett earned his fourth 250SX Class win in Daytona; it was his second win in Daytona

►Monster Energy/Pro-Circuit/Kawasaki’s earned their sixth consecutive 250SX Class win; five different riders have been a part of this streak

►Monster Energy/Pro-Circuit/Kawasaki has swept the podium twice this season with Cianciarulo, Baggett and Davalos

►Cianciarulo has four consecutive podium finishes and has yet to finish outside of the top two this year

►Davalos has also been on the podium at the first four races of the season

►In four Eastern Regional 250SX Class races, there have been 12 podium spots available, and Monster Energy/Pro-Circuit/Kawasaki has occupied 10 of them. GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle picked up the other two spots.

450SX Class Laps Led

Ryan Villopoto: 64

James Stewart: 49

Ryan Dungey: 24

Chad Reed: 23

Ken Roczen: 18

Justin Brayton: 13

Mike Alessi: 9

250SX Class Laps Led

Cole Seely: 52

Martin Davalos: 25

Adam Cianciarulo: 21

Justin Hill: 20

Blake Baggett: 14

Dean Wilson: 12

Jason Anderson: 6

450SX Class Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award

Anaheim Race 1: Ryan Villopoto

Phoenix: Matt Moss

Anaheim Race 2: Ryan Dungey

Oakland: Vince Friese

Anaheim Race 3: James Stewart

San Diego: Andrew Short

Arlington: Ryan Dungey

Atlanta: Mike Alessi

Indianapolis: Mike Alessi

Daytona: Ryan Villopoto

250SX Class Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award

Anaheim Race 1: Jason Anderson

Phoenix: Cooper Webb

Anaheim Race 2: Cooper Webb

Oakland: Dean Wilson

Anaheim Race 3: Cole Seely

San Diego: Dakota Tedder

Arlington: Adam Cianciarulo

Atlanta: Adam Cianciarulo

Indianapolis: Vince Friese

Daytona: Martin Davalos


MMI Top Tech Award

Anaheim Race 1: Kelly Lumgair

Phoenix: Rene Zapata

Anaheim Race 2: Lars Lindstrom

Oakland: Ollie Stone

Anaheim Race 3: Joel Ard

San Diego: Chris Loredo

Arlington: Brett Mountain

Atlanta: Tony Berluti

Indianapolis: Gregg Albertson

Daytona: N/A