Indy Notes Package

February 26, 2014 11:20am | by:

Monster Energy Supercross Notes Package

Lucas Oil Stadium, Indianapolis

450SX Class Stats: Indianapolis

►The first race was held on March 21, 1992, and Jeff Stanton won on a Honda

►There has not been a first-time winner in Indianapolis

►This will be the 23rd time the gate will drop for a 450SX Class race in Indianapolis

►This will be the sixth race at Lucas Oil Stadium

►Indiana's own Mike LaRocco won the last 450SX Class race of his career in Indianapolis in 2004 on a Honda

►LaRocco won his first-ever 450SX Class race in 1991; There was a span of 14 seasons between his first win and his last win

►Ricky Carmichael and Chad Reed are the only two riders to win in both classes

►From 1993-1996, Jeremy McGrath won three consecutive races in Indianapolis, and from 2010-2013 Ryan Villopoto has won four consecutive races, could he become the first rider to earn five wins in Indianapolis?

►McGrath has six total wins in Indianapolis and Carmichael and Villopoto each have four

►Villopoto and James Stewart share the highest winning percentage of all time at 43%; Can one of them take sole possession of this, this weekend?

►Villopoto came out of Indianapolis with his 30th win and moved into fifth place on the all-time win list

►With that 30th win, Villopoto became one of five riders to  accomplish this

►For the past three seasons, Villopoto became the first rider to win three races

450SX Class: Wins by Brand in Indianapolis

Brand / Wins / Last Win

Honda / 8 / 2004

Kawasaki / 7 / 2013

Yamaha / 4 / 2008

Suzuki / 3 / 2009

450SX Class: Atlanta Recap

►For the first time in 450SX Class history, there are four two-time winners in the first eight races

►Ken Roczen earned the second 450SX Class win of his career and joins Ryan Dungey as the only riders to win two 450SX Class races on a KTM in the same season

►Villopoto earned his fifth podium of the season; he is the only rider to be in the top five for all eight races

►Dungey earned his fourth podium of the season; it was his 51st career 450SX Class podium

►Dungey is winless in 11 races; his last win was in Minnesota last season

►Wil Hahn earned his first 450SX Class top five with a fourth place finish

►Justin Brayton earned his fifth top five of the season

►Mike Alessi earned his first top-10 finish of the season with a sixth-place finish

250SX Class: Indianapolis Stats

►The first race was held on March 21, 1992, and Jimmy Button won on a Yamaha

►This will be the 23rd time the gate will drop in Indianapolis for an 250SX Class race

►Davi Millsaps and Mickael Pichon are the only 250SX Class' back-to-back winners

►Blake Wharton is the only rider in the class that has previously won in Indianapolis

►Wil Hahn finished third last year in Indianapolis and is coming off of his best 450SX Class finish

250SX Class: First time Winners in Indianapolis

Rider / Year

Michael Brandes / 2000

Chad Reed / 2002

Josh Hansen / 2004

Davi Millsaps / 2005

Ryan Sipes / 2011

250SX Class: Wins by Brand in Indianapolis

Brand / Wins / Last Win

Yamaha / 6 / 2011

Suzuki / 6 / 2012

Kawasaki / 5 / 2010

Honda / 4 / 2013

250SX Class: Atlanta Recap

►Martin Davalos became the 94th different 250SX Class winner

►Davalos became the 30th rider to earn his first 250SX Class in aboard a Kawasaki

►Kawasaki now has 154 250SX Class victories

►Pro-Circuit Kawasaki now has a four-race win streak

►For only the third time in 250SX Class history, there have been back-to-back first-time winners on a Kawasaki: Bader Manneh and Eddie Warren (1985); Mike Craig and Jeff Emig (1990); Adam Cianciarulo and Martin Davalos (2014)

►Cianciarulo won the season opener and followed that performance up with a second place in Atlanta and has the points lead

►Davalos won his first-ever race in his 64th career start; this is the longest any rider has raced before his first win. In the 450SX Class, Andrew Short won his first race in his 88th start in Seattle 2012.

450SX Class Laps Led

James Stewart: 49

Ryan Villopoto: 44

Chad Reed: 23

Ken Roczen: 18

Justin Brayton: 13

Ryan Dungey: 8

Mike Alessi: 5

250SX Class Laps Led

Cole Seely: 52

Justin Hill: 20

Martin Davalos: 18

Adam Cianciarulo: 12

Dean Wilson: 12

Jason Anderson: 6

450SX Class Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award

Anaheim Race 1: Ryan Villopoto

Phoenix: Matt Moss

Anaheim Race 2: Ryan Dungey

Oakland: Vince Friese

Anaheim Race 3: James Stewart

San Diego: Andrew Short

Arlington: Ryan Dungey

Atlanta: Mike Alessi

250SX Class Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award

Anaheim Race 1: Jason Anderson

Phoenix: Cooper Webb

Anaheim Race 2: Cooper Webb

Oakland: Dean Wilson

Anaheim Race 3: Cole Seely

San Diego: Dakota Tedder

Arlington: Adam Cianciarulo

Atlanta: Adam Cianciarulo

MMI Top Tech Award

Anaheim Race 1: Kelly Lumgair

Phoenix: Rene Zapata

Anaheim Race 2: Lars Lindstrom

Oakland: Ollie Stone

Anaheim Race 3: Joel Ard

San Diego: Chris Loredo

Arlington: Brett Mountain

Atlanta: Tony Berluti