Roczen Edges Tomac in Moto 2, Belgium/USA close

September 29, 2013 9:25am | by:

Two flying 250Fs took it to the rest of the field in the second moto of the Monster Energy Motocross of Nations, with Ken Roczen and Eli Tomac setting a blistering pace and leaving everyone else behind in a battle for the win. Roczen was able to pass Dean Ferris (who holeshot BOTH of his motos today on his 250F) to take the early lead, and Tomac was soon there to stalk him all the way to the end. Roczen hung on to the delight of the German fans, Tomac was right behind.

Team USA recovered big in this one as Justin Barcia ran third most of the way as the top Open rider, but Belgium's Clement Desalle came through to catch him, and when Barcia nearly crashed (on the same jump that snagged Tomac in moto one) the door was open for a pass. Desalle took it to get third. He rode very well, but Roczen and Tomac were even faster!

Desalle's teammate Jeremy van Horebeek was a very solid 7th, which gives Belgium the lead on points heading into the final moto. They have 25 points, the U.S. has 28. However, those points still count all finishes, including Tomac's first-moto 16th, which could become the throw away (each team throws out one score). If you factor in drop scores, Team USA actually leads with 12 points (6-4-2) to Belgium's 17 (7-7-3). However, this leaves no room for error in moto three--Ryan Dungey and Barcia have to have good races.

Belgium will bring the very capable Desalle and Ken de Dycker to the gate for moto three.

Germany's team chances took a big hit when Dennis Ullrich crashed in the first turn of moto two, and then later crashed out altogether. Australia was still solid with Ferris taking 5th and Todd Waters 20th. Italy got a big boost from Alessandro Lupino, who was 8th. David Philippaerts was 14th, but remember they have first moto winner Tony Cairoli back for moto three. If Philippaerts can log a better run in moto three (and thus throw out his 14th) Italy has a shot, as does Germany if Ullrich can go and Max Nagl steps up.


Result Race 2
1. Ken Roczen (GER), KTM
2. Eli Tomac (USA), Honda
3. Clement Desalle (BEL), Suzuki
4. Justin Barcia (USA), Honda
5. Dean Ferris (AUS), Yamaha
6. Tanel Leok (EST), TM
7. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL), Kawasaki
8. Alessandro Lupino (ITA), Kawasaki
9. Christophe Charlier (FRA), Yamaha
10. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS), Honda
11. Jake Nicholls (GBR), KTM
12. Jordi Tixier (FRA), KTM
13. Matiss Karro (LAT), KTM
14. David Philippaerts (ITA), Honda
15. Evgeny Mikhaylov (RUS), KTM
16. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED), KTM
17. Jose Butron (ESP), KTM
18. Shaun Simpson (GBR), Yamaha
19. Matthias Walkner (AUT), KTM
20. Todd Waters (AUS), KTM
21. Nikolaj Larsen (DEN), Honda
22. Paulo Alberto (POR), Honda
23. Harri Kullas (FIN), KTM
24. Jeremy Seewer (SUI), Suzuki
25. Filip Neugebauer (CZE), Kawasaki
26. Pascal Rauchenecker (AUT), KTM
27. Stefan Kjer Olsen (DEN), Honda
28. Davis Ivanovs (LAT), Kawasaki
29. Martin Michek (CZE), KTM
30. Erki Kahro (EST), KTM
31. Killian Auberson (SUI), KTM
32. Alvaro Lozano (ESP), Yamaha
33. Kenneth Gundersen (NOR), Kawasaki
34. Kayne Lamont (NZL), KTM
35. Magne Klingsheim (NOR), Yamaha
36. Ludvig Söderberg (FIN), KTM
37. Herjan Brakke (NED), Yamaha
38. Hugo Santos (POR), KTM
39. Cody Cooper (NZL), Suzuki
40. Dennis Ullrich (GER), KTM

Pressure is on! This is going to be a thriller.