Lake Elsinore: 250 Moto 2 Report

Lake Elsinore: 250 Moto 2 Report

August 24, 2013 8:15pm

Zach Osborne started the second 250 moto of the day  off with another holeshot, but rookie Cooper Webb quickly took over the lead. Not far behind was a big pack of riders consisting of Baggett, Bogle, Tomac, Anderson, Martin, Davalos, Hahn, and more.

Baggett, apparently intent on taking advantage of his final opportunity to remind everyone why his Kawasaki was wearing the number-one plate all season, put his head down and went after Webb for the lead. It wasn’t long before he got it, and when he did he started gapping the field. Later in the race Tomac would move into second and start closing the distance, but Baggett responded and stabilized the gap. Baggett would win the moto easily, only to be penalized one spot for jumping while the wheels-on-the-ground-flag was waving.

After Baggett passed Webb, Webb dropped off the pace for a few laps and gave up several positions. He found a little something extra in the second half of the moto though and was able to get back into third, which is where he finished. Osborne also fell off the pace a little, but, like Webb, found some extra steam late in the race and picked a few positions back up to finish in fourth

Bummer race for Ken Roczen. He started somewhere around fifteenth, but even if he had gotten a better start, he probably wouldn’t have been able to hold onto it. The heat was ridiculous today here at Lake Elsinore, and Roczen looked like he was feeling the effects a little bit, as were many others. His lap times weren’t competitive with Baggett’s and Tomac’s, and he didn’t look like the same rider who completely dominated the first moto.

Rockstar Energy Suzuki’s Jason Anderson also had a bummer of a moto. He was in the middle of a fantastic rebound from a bad first moto, and was running third when he crashed hard and took his time getting up. He was clearly in pain and was unable to finish the moto. Adam Cianciarulo didn’t start this moto, although at this point we’re unsure why. Check back soon for details in our full race report.

Baggett sporting the number-one plate for the last time in 2013
Photo: Hansel

250 Moto Two Results

  1. Eli Tomac
  2. Blake Baggett
  3. Cooper Webb
  4. Zach Osborne
  5. Jeremy Martin
  6. Wil hahn
  7. Ken Roczen
  8. Justin Hill
  9. Martin Davalos
  10. Marvin Musquin
  11. Justin Bogle
  12. Cole Seely
  13. Darryn Durham
  14. Jessy Nelson
  15. Matt Misceglia
  16. Ryan Zimmer
  17. Shane McElrath
  18. Jacob Baumert
  19. Jake Mohnike
  20. Brandon Scharer
  21. Trevor Reis
  22. Dakota Tedder
  23. Jason Brooks
  24. Preston Mull
  25. Matas Inda
  26. William Clason
  27. Conner Elliott
  28. Bradey Kiesel
  29. Zack Williams
  30. Kyle Peters
  31. Austin Burns
  32. Jason Anderson
  33. Chad Gores
  34. Alex Martin
  35. Kyle Cunningham
  36. Adam Cianciarulo
  37. Colt Nichols
  38. Michael Leib
  39. Brad Nauditt
  40. Sean Hackley Jr.