Unadilla: 250  Moto 1 Report

Unadilla: 250 Moto 1 Report

August 10, 2013 3:05pm

For the first time since Freestone in 2010 GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomace entered a round of Lucas Oil Pro Motocross with the red plate in possession. Following a dominant 250 moto 1 win under ideal weather conditions at Unadilla in New Berlin, NY, Tomac widened his points gap over Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen.

GEICO Honda’s Wil Hahn secured his unprecedented eighth Motorcycle-Superstore.com holeshot of the season. MyPlash/Star Racing Yamaha's Jeremy Martin—fresh off his second career moto podium a round ago at Millville—and Roczen were in tow. The trio of Hahn, Martin and Roczen were locked in a tight battle for the lead when Tomac decided to join the party, following a less than stellar start, around the 20 minute mark.

Martin, who led his first career laps at Millville, shot into the lead again around the 19-minute mark. Hahn continued to slid down, losing spots to both Tomac and Roczen shortly after. Tomac would rain on Martin’s chances at a career first moto win, pushing his way past around the halfway mark. The points leader would run away with a more than fifteen second lead, winning his first career race with a red plate on his bike. Martin would collect his second moto podium in as many races with Tomac’s GEICO Honda teammate Zach Osborne making a late run to secure the final podium spot. Blake Baggett, Roczen, Hahn, Kyle Cunningham, Marvin Musquin, Cole Seely and Justin Bogle would round out the top ten.

In other news: MyPlash/Star Racing Yamaha rookie Cooper Webb was not expected to race the first moto following a brutal crash in practice. The North Carolina native was a surprise late entry, gutting out a twelfth. GEICO Honda’s Matt Bisceglia’s career got off to a rough start as he crashed while running inside the top fifteen and retired early. Fellow rookie, TLD’s Shane McElrath would finish seventeenth. 2012 Rookie of the Year Jessy Nelson was back in action for the first time since Hangtown. Nelson finished the first moto fifteenth.


250MX Moto 1 Results

  1. Eli Tomac
  2. Jeremy Martin
  3. Zach Osborne
  4. Blake Baggett
  5. Ken Roczen
  6. Wil Hahn
  7. Kyle Cunningham
  8. Marvin Musquin
  9. Cole Seely

10. Justin Bogle

11. Jason Anderson

12. Cooper Webb

13. Martin Davalos

14. Alex Martin

15. Jessy Nelson

16. Justin Hill

17. Shane McElrath

18. Kyle Peters

19. Adam Cianciarulo

20. Jimmy Decotis