Budds Creek Practice Report

Budds Creek Practice Report

June 22, 2013 11:30am

After a one week break the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship resumes here today at the famed Budds Creek Raceway, not far outside of our capital Washington, DC. Perfect weather greeted the teams here today and the track is prepped perfectly, which should provide for a great day of racing.

The series picks up with Monster Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto leading the 450 Class points and Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen leading the way in the 250 Class. Roczen’s teammate Marvin Musquin won the last two rounds and Villopoto won the last round at High Point Raceway.

A couple of notable returns to the series is GEICO Honda’s Wil Hahn making his first race since suffering a wrist injury at the final round of supercross and finally, the much-hyped up amateur sensation “Michael” Adam Cianciarulo is making his professional debut on the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit team. Cianciarulo is riding with the #292 and is looking to get going after an illness sidelined him through the first four races. He qualified 12th overall today.

Missing in action is Rockstar Suzuki’s Nico Izzi who tore his ACL and will be out for the rest of the season.

In the 450 Class, we see that KTM’s Mike Brown, the oldest rider in the field here today, is in the house and qualified 21st on the day.

As usual, the second set of practices were the faster ones for most riders and in the 450 Class it was Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart who set the fastest pace out there with a 1:58.6 which was actually set in the first session. After that came Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey, Honda Muscle Milk’s Trey Canard, JGR Yamaha’s Josh Grant, Canard’s teammate Justin Barcia and then Villopoto.

In the 250MX division, it was GEICO’s Eli Tomac who set the fastest time of the day with Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett in second and looking to rebound from a couple of poor (for him) races. The KTM boys of Musquin and Roczen were next.

Stay tuned to the TV and Internet today as all four motos are live on the web and on TV. Check Racerxonline.com for info on where and when to catch the race today. It’s going to be a good one!

450MX Qualifying Times

1 7 James Stewart Jr. Suzuki RMZ 450 1:58.640

2 1 Ryan Dungey KTM 450 SX-F FE 1:59.372

3 41 Trey Canard Honda CRF450R 1:59.747

4 33 Josh Grant Yamaha YZ 450F 2:00.030

5 51 Justin Barcia Honda CRF450R 2:00.419

6 2 Ryan Villopoto Kawasaki KX 450F 2:00.553

7 10 Justin Brayton Yamaha YZ 450F 2:01.261

8 800 Mike Alessi Suzuki RMZ 450 2:01.286

9 28 Tyla Rattray Kawasaki KX 450F 2:01.385

10 35 Ryan Sipes Suzuki RMZ 450 2:01.958


250MX Qualifying Times

1 17 Eli Tomac Honda CRF250R 1:59.926

2 1 Blake Baggett Kawasaki KX 250F 1:59.937

3 25 Marvin Musquin KTM 250 SX-F 1:59.982

4 94 Ken Roczen KTM 250 SX-F 2:00.596

5 21 Jason Anderson Suzuki RMZ 250 2:00.812

6 175 Cooper Webb Yamaha YZ 250F 2:00.924

7 77 Jeremy Martin Yamaha YZ 250F 2:00.925

8 338 Zach Osborne Honda CRF250R 2:00.926

9 44 Darryn Durham Kawasaki KX 250F 2:01.881

10 19 Will Hahn Honda CRF250R 2:02.043