Budds Creek 250  Moto 1 Report

Budds Creek 250 Moto 1 Report

June 22, 2013 3:15pm

A massive crowd has flooded the storied grounds of Budds Creek Raceway just outside Washington, DC for round 5 of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship. Plenty of attention surrounded Adam Cianciarulo’s professional debut and the amateur sensation astonished the crowd by nearly securing the first moto holeshot. Cianciarulo was edged by Wil Hahn who is back in action after missing the first four rounds with a wrist injury. The duo was joined by the only two-time overall winner in 2013, Marvin Musquin.

With two consecutive overalls under his belt, Musquin has climbed back into the championship chase. He further cemented his spot as a top contender by taking the early lead. Championship points leader Ken Roczen and his next closest competitor, Eli Tomac, were both buried off the start.

Musquin wasted little time opening a gap over Hahn, Joey Savatgy and Jason Anderson, but his seemingly clear path to victory was interrupted late in the moto by Roczen and defending champion Blake Baggett. First Baggett went to work on Roczen, furiously charging the outside before finally taking over second after passing Roczen down Henry Hill. Baggett’s charge was then taken to Musquin, as the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider dove to the outside after the downhill triple, securing the lead for the first time of the race.

Baggett would cruise to his first moto win of the season after his late pass while Musquin was able to hold off a late charge from Roczen for second. Jason Anderson had his best moto finish of the season with a fourth. Tomac overcame another bad start to finish fifth. Wil Hahn, Kyle Cunningham, Joey Savatgy, Jeremy Martin and Justin Hill would round out the top ten.

250MX Moto 1 Results

  1. Blake Baggett
  2. Marvin Musquin
  3. Ken Roczen
  4. Jason Anderson
  5. Eli Tomac
  6. Wil Hahn
  7. Kyle Cunningham
  8. Joey Savatgy
  9. Jeremy Martin
  10. Justin Hill
  11. Cole Seely
  12. Cooper Webb
  13. Darryn Durham
  14. Adam Cianciarulo
  15. Blake Wharton
  16. Alex Martin
  17. Zach Osborne
  18. Brady Kiesel
  19. Justin Bogle
  20. Mitchell Oldenburg

Click HERE for full results.