Renegade Fuels in Oakland

January 31, 2013 12:55pm

Unseasonably warm weather welcomed round four of the Monster Energy Supercross Championship to the fabled Oakland Coliseum. Now well into the meat of the season, the technical Oakland course offered up a challenge in the form of a sandy paperclip sweeper that caught several riders in both the 250sx and 450sx heat races. Davi Millsaps picked up where he left off at A2 on his Rockstar Suzuki fueled by Renegade machine, powering to the front on the long straight between turns two and three. Comfortably out front Milsaps stretched his lead and rode confidently to a Heat 1 win and ticket to the main. Heat 2 featured three Supercross Champions with James Stewart aboard his Renegaded fueled Suzuki, battling Ryan Villopoto and Chad Reed. The spread-out field was led to the checkered by Villiopoto followed by Stewart, and Alesi in third. As  day turned to chilly night, the 45,000 plus in attendance saw a lot of bar tangling and bumping as the riders fought for the narrowing line, then several riders went down entering turn two, with Villipoto, Brayton and Milsaps charging clear. Villipoto went on to take the top spot with Rockstar Suzuki fueled by Renegade Milsaps running down Brayton for second, while adding precious points to his championship lead.

The 250sx stars had equal difficulty navigating their lighter machines around the technical sand traps that dotted the Oakland course, with Geico Honda fueled by Renegade point leader Eli Tomac suffering a crash in Heat 1. With the top nine transferring, Tomac had to work hard to battle back from his off to have a chance at championship points in the main. It wasn't to be though, as Kenny Roczen stayed on form and carried his Heat 1 momentum into the main taking the win, and more importantly, the series points lead. The biggest momentum swing of the night though, could have been the re-emergence of Rockstar Suzuki fueled by Renegade ace Jason Anderson, who was on pace all night, locking up the final podium spot and adding to his fifth place championship points. Other notable top ten performances were turned in by Renegade fueled riders Broc Tickle (RCH Suzuki) 450sx; and 250sx riders Kyle Cunningham (Yamaha), Austin Politelli (Honda) and Zach Osborne (Geico Honda).

450SX Overall

1. Ryan Villopoto Kaw

2. Davi Millsaps Suz/Renegade Fuels

3. Ryan Dungey KTM

4. Trey Canard Hon

5. Mike Alessi Suz

6. Andrew Short Hon

7. Matthew Goerke KTM

8. Broc Tickle Suz/Renegade Fuels

9. Vince Friese Hon

10. Justin Brayton Yam

11. Jimmy Albertson Hon/Renegade Fuels

12. Chad Reed Hon

13. Kyle Chisholm Yam/Renegade Fuels

14. Les Smith KTM

15. Bobby Kiniry Yam/Renegade Fuels

16. Josh Grant Yam

17. Cedric Soubeyras Hon

18. Matt Lemoine Kaw/Renegade Fuels

19. James Stewart Suz/Renegade Fuels

20. Justin Barcia Hon


250SX Overall

1. Ken Roczen KTM

2. Cole Seely Hon

3. Jason Anderson Suz/Renegade Fuels

4. Martin Davalos Kaw

5. Malcolm Stewart KTM

6. Joey Savatgy KTM

7. Kyle Cunningham Yam/Renegade Fuels

8. Austin Politelli Hon/Renegade Fuels

9. Christian Craig Hon

10. Zach Osborne Hon/Renegade Fuels

11. Tyla Rattray Kaw

12. Travis Baker Yam

13. Jessy Nelson Hon

14. Chris Plouffe Hon/Renegade Fuels

15. Jean Ramos Kaw

16. Josh Cachia KTM

17. Kade Mosig Kaw

18. Killian Rusk Hon

19. Jake Canada Hon

20. Eli Tomac Hon/Renegade Fuels

For more information on the Renegade products you can go to and to learn how you can become a dealer for the fuel used by the top pro teams you can contact Mark Ticen, Renegade Fuels Powersport Director, at . Be sure to follow Mark on Twitter for all Renegade Powersports updates and current events