TLD Reaches Podium at A2

January 22, 2013 11:35am
Round three of the Monster Energy Supercross series went very well for the Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Honda squad. All three riders had flashes of brilliance at times, and team leader Cole Seely led much of the main event before finishing third.

The first heat race looked good for holeshot artist Jessy Nelson. After another one of his patented starts he slid into the second position and looked to be holding it comfortably. But a mistimed jump in a rhythm section sent him to the ground, and ultimately to the LCQ.

The extra time on the track would do the rookie good though, since a flat tire in practice limited his track time during the day. Jessy went on to win the LCQ but got a bad gate pick for the final. Cole Seely and Christian Craig both qualified into the main event without issue.

In the main event it was all Cole Seely around turn one. With Ken Roczen and Eli Tomac in tow, Cole took off and set the pace. As the race passed the halfway mark Seely seemed to have things under control and it looked like he might go on to add another win to his resume. But the charging duo behind him forced their way past, and Cole settled into third for the second time this year.

Christian Craig logged a sixth place finish after a solid ride, and after a dismal start from the far outside, Jessy Nelson managed to cross the line in tenth place.

The series moves north to Oakland this weekend and the team will continue to push for a main event win. Seely has the speed and his starts, along with Nelson's, have pretty much deflated their competitors hopes of grabbing an early lead. If you're at the race, stop by the TLD transporter, meet your favorite TLD team rider and pick up a team poster!

TLD would like to thank all of our team sponsors: Lucas Oil, American Honda, PPG, Red Bull, Adidas, Oakley, Seaspan, FenderĀ®, Seaspan, Pro Tork, Dunlop, Renthal, Alpinestars, MavTV, ODI, McQueen Racing, Method Race Wheels, Sol Republic, GoPro, Shock Doctor, Pro Circuit, Showa, VQ OrthoCare, Couts Heating & Cooling, Specialized, Kasey Kahne, Enjoy, VP Racing Fuels, DubyaUSA/Talon, Moto Tassinari, PixelMags, ARC, Braking, Boyesen, Caprillo, Moto Brew, Vortex, Cycra, Mammoth Mountain, DID, Dirt Star, Hinson, Twin Air, Pacific Collision Centers, Sports Care Center, Elrod Racing, and New Era.

250SX Heat 1
1. Ryan Sipes (SUZ)
2. Jason Anderson (SUZ)
3. Martin Davalos (KAW)
4. Michael Leib (HON)
5. Max Anstie (SUZ)
6. Travis Baker (YAM)
7. Christian Craig (HON)
8. Kyle Cuningham (YAM)
9. Dillan Epstein (KAW)

250SX Heat 2
1. Ken Roczen (KTM)
2. Eli Tomac (HON)
3. Zach Osborne (HON)
4. Jake Canada (HON)
5. Cole Seely (HON)
6. Tyla Rattray (KAW)
7. Joey Savatgy (KTM)
8. Dakota Tedder (KAW)
9. Scott Champion (HON)

1. Jessy Nelson (HON)
2. Malcom Stewart KTM)

250SX Main Event
1. Eli Tomac (HON)
2. Ken Roczen (KTM)
3. Cole Seely (HON)
4. Zach Osborne (HON)
5. Jake Canada (HON)
6. Christian Craig (HON)
7. Jason Anderson (SUZ)
8. Tyla Rattray (KAW)
9. Kyle Cunningham (YAM)
10. Jessy Nelson (HON)
11. Malcom Stewart (KTM)
12. Martin Davalos (KAW)
13. Travis Baker (YAM)
14. Dakota Tedder (KAW)
15. Scott Champion (HON)
16. Dillan Epstein (KAW)
17. Max Anstie (SUZ)
18. Michael Leib (HON)
19. Ryan Sipes (SUZ)
20. Joey Savatgy (KTM)